saying goodbye to a friend

This is Kitty. Everyone say hello!

I got Kitty 10 years ago when she was just 6 weeks old and I was living with my parents. When it came time to move out 2 years later, Kitty and my mom had a bond that I couldn’t break so she’s been with them ever since. I was told a few nights ago that she has a tumor on her shoulder that is pretty much inoperable and she only has a few days left with us. So last night I went out to Deerfield and said goodbye. God, that was hard.

In a few days, she’ll be reunited with her buddy Sammy in the shade of the tree in the yard where we laid his ashes just a few years ago. And my dad promised me he’ll give her a little pep talk on the way to the vet, the same way he did with Sammy so I know she’s in good hands.

After sitting with her, rubbing her ears, giving her the back scratch of a lifetime, playing with her jingly ball on the door, and listening to her content purr, I left when she decided it was dinnertime. On my way home, I took the scenic route because driving aimlessly always clears my head and makes me feel better. When I was in high school, an evening drive to nowhere would always make me feel better after a fight with a boyfriend, or a spat with a sister, or when I had a tough decision to make. So I took Sheridan Road all the way, looking at the beautiful lakefront mansions, stopping a few times in parking lots at the beachfront just to stare at the water. Then I hopped on Lake Shore Drive which I never ever do and I was proud of myself for overcoming my fear. And since Scott’s been talking about Dairy Queen for the last week, I decided to make him happy and cheer myself up with a Blizzard dinner – Georgia Mud for him, French Silk for me. There’s something magical about how ice cream makes everything better, even if just a little.

So with tears in my eyes, I just wanted to say I’ll miss you my sweet kitty. Someday in the distant future, I’ll be lifting the blanket so you can crawl under with me at night for cuddles. I’ll be waking up with you on my sleeping on my head, and I’ll be scratching your ears ’til you kick your foot like a puppy. See you in heaven my big cuddly angel.

9 Comments

Filed under sadness

9 responses to “saying goodbye to a friend

  1. Megan

    Ack, you just made me tear up at work! Sending you internet hugs and giving my kitties an extra pat tonight in tribute.

  2. Yep, you successfully made me cry at work as well. So sorry about your little one. I’ve had my kitty for about 5 years now and she is like a child to me, I have no idea how hard it will be to let her go one day. *Hugs*

  3. Oh no, this makes me so sad. You’re poor baby! Losing a pet is never easy, and it’s always so hard because they just can’t live as long as we can. I know she had a full and happy life with you. HUGS!

  4. Em

    I have to admit, I couldn’t read this whole post. So sorry for the loss of your sweet kitty. Sending lots of e-hugs your way.

  5. Well, you successfully brought a tear or two to my eye. I’m glad you had the chance to properly say goodbye to your furbaby. My childhood pup (who I had starting at 2years old) had to be put to sleep when I was a freshman at college. My parents didn’t have the heart to tell me, and it took them 2 weeks to break the news (they couldn’t decide who had to tell me in the end). Although I’m glad in some ways that I didn’t have to be there to witness her in those last days, I am sad that I never did get the chance to say goodbye to her (and our other dog, who was put to sleep at the same time…).

    However, I AM glad that you got to have a Blizzard for dinner! Ummmm I totally thought I was alone in my belief that ice cream CAN be dinner. I’d take a Blizzard for dinner any day

    • Jaime Jackimiec Straus

      I, too, found out after the fact with our doggie last year which kinda sucked! And you are not alone…I’m guessing you’d also agree that cookies, cake, or pie, or any combination of those can be dinner, too. Or breakfast. 🙂

  6. Pingback: monday morning weekend recap « rabit stew

  7. Jaime Jackimiec Straus

    Thank you all for the hugs, your comments mean so much to me 🙂

  8. oh i am so sorry to hear this. sweet little kitty, i cannot imagine how heartbreaking this is. lots of hugs.

Leave a Reply

