scotty’s famous apple cake

I mentioned yesterday that Scott was making his apple cake for me for the first time and I have to say, the fact that I ate it for dinner then went back and grazed from the pan with my fork for a while tells ya just how good it was. And he was happy to let me share the recipe with you all, so here goes:

Ingredients

  • 6 apples (cored, peeled, & diced)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup cooking oil (we used vegetable oil)

Directions

Preheat oven to 325. Sift dry ingredients together except sugar, and then set aside. Beat eggs and sugar well till blended, then add oil and beat well. Add dry ingredients and mix*, then fold in apples. 11×15 pan – bake for 45 mins. 9×13 pan – bake for 1 hour.

As an added topping, I decided to melt 1 stick of butter in the microwave, and add a ton of sugar, brown sugar, and cinnamon to taste into a nice thick consistency. When the cake was finished baking, I poured the glaze over the top and spread evenly, then broiled on high for about 6 minutes until it was bubbling and brown.

For a printable pdf of the recipe, click here —> Scotty’s Famous Apple Cake.

I actually managed to dice 6 apples without drawing blood. I did shorten one of my nails but it’s better than losing a finger.

*sidenote* I pray for your bicep’s sake that you have an electric mixer. We, unfortunately do not. While it is completely possible to mix with a fork or whisk, it gets pretty thick and this seemed like the perfect opportunity to pull out a contraption that came with Scott that I never ever thought we’d use. Isn’t it cute?

Hand cranked beaters! I never even knew these existed until I found them in the drawer and giggled. This caused Scott to chase me around the house turning the little crank saying “I’m gonna git you,” then he caught and rolled up the back of my shirt in the beaters and we ultimately decided they’d make a horrible weapon.

When it came time to fold in the apples, he started with one of those plastic frosting spatula thingys and after a minute of his poor muscles mixing, I told him there’s nothing wrong with mixing with your hands. The good Lord gave us built-in tools, might as well use them!

Scott went with a 9×13 pan, and after an hour in the oven the house smelled so good! I glazed, I broiled, and voila! Scotty’s Famous Apple Cake:

You better believe I ate that for dinner. Yep, just that. And then some more for dessert. And I brought some for lunch today. And I’m on my own for dinner tonight, hmmm, what to have, what to have….

3 Comments

Filed under home, recipes

3 responses to “scotty’s famous apple cake

  1. bmischiefj

    you spelled rabbit wrong…

  2. Jane

    I’m envious. I had frozen pizza– I really wanted lobster ravioli, though.

Leave a Reply

