what a weekend

As a lot of you know, yesterday was my 33rd birthday and I’m a firm believer that everyone should get their birthday off of work/ school/ whateveritisyoudoonadailybasis. Call it your own national holiday. So although my work didn’t voluntarily offer me the day off, I used up some vacation hours and I have to say, laying on the couch all day eating popcorn soaked in butter and watching girly movies is WAY better than work. Needless to say, it was a great uneventful birthday and I wouldn’t have had it any other way…

…well…

…except for maybe one thing. For some reason, Hazy decided my birthday would be the perfect day to wake me up in a whole new way. Hazel. Oh Hazel, Hazel, Hazel. My sweet, cuddly adorable little puppy…

…that innocent looking snuggly ball of fluff decided to crawl under the blanket, get into position like she was going to spoon with me, and then it happened…

she

peed

all

over

me.

And let me tell you, she got me good. She somehow managed to not only get my blanket, but also my shirt, pj pants, AND underroos. That was special. I think this was the first birthday I’ve ever had where my first words of the day were, “what the fuck!?!!!!” I’m still not sure why it happened, she’s never actually peed ON me before. And so help me, if she ever wants to show her cute little mug on this here blog in the future, it better not happen again.

Backtracking, the first part of my birthday weekend was pretty fantastic, too. I had a quiet Friday night, Saturday was spent shopping, then Scott took me to Creme of the Crepe, a place that Amy and I discovered on backyard demolition day, and I had my favorite Chicken Florentine crepe for dinner and nutella and peanut butter for dessert. Seriously, it’s heaven wrapped in a pastry, topped with powdered sugar and whipped cream.

Sunday was spent working on little projects – we built a headboard for our guest bed, made wall art, put together a couch and put up black-out shades in the bedroom – all stuff we’ve been meaning to do at some point over the last few months. In the afternoon, Scott gave me a present and oh my, I just have to gush a little and mention that I have such a sweet hubby. A few months ago during a long stroll thru Ikea, I saw a picture that I instantly fell in love with. It’s an almost 5’x7′ ginormous shot from the end of a hanging bridge with a huge tree on the other side that instantly brought on daydreams of walking through an unfamiliar damp forest, coming to a clearing, and discovering this hidden walkway into your imagination on the other side. Sadly, I couldn’t justify spending the money on such a huge piece of artwork when we had bookshelves, a bed, and 5 tables to buy. But unbeknownst to me, Scott wrote himself a note back in August when I gazed longingly at the picture that it would make a great birthday present for me. And oh, how it did. I’ll be sure to take a picture when I get home today for you all, it’s absolutely breathtaking. Sunday night, we went out with my parents to my annual Benihana dinner outing, and I can still say I have yet to be disappointed there. I don’t think I could ever get sick of the onion volcano, watching shrimp tails disappear in the chef’s hat, and being sung a song over a buddha with a candle sticking out of his head where the only words in the song I can make out are, “happy, happy!” That’s my kinda song 🙂

And even though it’s technically Tuesday, it feels like Monday to me, so happy Montuesday to you all!

3 Comments

Filed under doggies, home, ridiculousness

3 responses to “what a weekend

  1. Jane

    Happy birthday! I’m curious, now, though. Are you going to have your birthdays gracefully every year after you turn 40, or are you going to stay forever 33?

    My grandmother still makes me put 25 on her birthday cakes, and threw a fit this year when I used her actual age, in those tiny individual candles with stripes.

  2. Colleen

    Happy Birthday!
    What kind of headboard did you make? You should include a pic of this as well. My next project is to make a fabric covered plywood headboard.

  3. Oh man, what a great b-day present from your pup! LMAO!

    Can’t wait to see your new art!

Leave a Reply

