recycling a bit of crazy lady

When we moved into the house, the chandelier that Crazy Lady left for us in the dining room was one of the first things I wanted to replace. Can ya blame me?

So we had taken it down and tucked it away in a closet. I’m still not sure why it never made it to the garbage can but now I’m really glad it didn’t.

Last weekend I took this little erm, beauty, out back and gave it a piece of my mind.

I yelled derogatory names at it as I sprayed…things like “why are you SO. FREAKING. UGLY?” and, “80’s be gone!@#$!”… And just like that, I had exorcised the crazy lady demon.

It still wasn’t all that fabulous to look at just yet but I had a plan. I put in clear round bulbs, came up with a repeating pattern and strung a few million beads on fishing wire, looped the strands to the hooks that used to hold the glass plates, installed a dimmer switch and hung it in baby girl’s room and…

Much better.

11 Comments

Filed under nursery

11 responses to “recycling a bit of crazy lady

  1. SO PRETTY! What a creative idea – I absolutely love how it turned out!

  2. Jane

    I thought it was pretty either way. If you run across one like it, can you link me to it? I need something to make my ceiling fan look less bland.

    I’m into the gaudy-retro thing.

    Did you do the beading yourself, or did you buy them ready and put together?

    • I sat on my couch for hours stringing the same bead pattern over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over until I made enough for 12 loops on the top and I think 8 on the bottom level. IT TOOK FOREVER!

      Oh, and if you like gaudy retro, you’d fall in love with my sister’s kitchen. She didn’t chose it cause she rents her apartment but holy seizure-inducing 70’s fabulousness! I got her an ugly green cookie jar for Christmas to complement the red/orange/brown wallpaper 🙂

  3. OMG we totally have a “chandelier” like that in our house. Luckily its out of the way, so I barely notice it. Now I might just have to do something with it!

  4. Wow! I am IMPRESSED! I would have never thought to do that. That looks great!!

  5. So cute! Big, big improvement!

  6. UMMM, you need to come to my house and be crafty like this. I am verrry jealous of this chandelier!! All the ones I’ve seen online are like, over 100 bucks and I can’t afford them. 😦

  7. That looks so pretty! I love it.

  8. Pingback: the nursery to date | rabit stew

  9. Pingback: sticks and bricks | rabit stew

Leave a Reply

