23 weeks

I’ve been a pregger slacker – a pracker if you will – this week due to strep throat and a few days of working at home, so this is the best I’ve got for you (and no fruit because The Bump now lumps baby’s size into a couple of weeks and she didn’t want to be a papaya again. She told me so.) According to I Am Pregnant….

Gee, that’s clever.

I had my monthly checkup this week and I remembered to take the elevator…even though it’s only 1 flight, last time I took the stairs and threw off the whole normal blood pressure thingy I’ve had going for me this whole time. The nurse had to take my bp again at the end of my appointment last time and sure enough, it was back to normal. So what I’ve taken away from this is stairs=temporary racing pulse=high blood pressure=scary look on nurses face=exercise bad. Lesson learned. 🙂

Anywho, I have a new love. Not love love, more of a I want you to pull my babies out of my baby chute love. ‘Member when I told you about how I thought Dr. H was a man? An older man who I had once (ok, that sounds kinda date-y pervy, not that ‘pull my baby out of my baby chute’ doesn’t, but I totally meant this in a doctor/patient/I had an appointment and he was my doctor once not my date kind of way)? And it turned out that Dr. H was actually a woman doctor in her 40s that I’ve never seen before and pray to God is not on call the day I have this baby. ‘Member? Well, my appointment this past Tuesday was with 1 of the 4 doctors in the practice that I hadn’t seen during my pregnancy yet (remember they have me making the rounds since any one of them could be delivering baby girl) and when he walked in, I realized that the doctor I thought was Dr. H was actually this doctor, Dr. A.

Whew, got all that??

And Dr. A is fantastic. He was funny and kind and actually genuinely wanted to know if I had any questions or concerns. And he actually listened when I asked what the red spots on my chest are, unlike Dr. H who just told me probably nothing but they could also be serious and just keep an eye on them. Gee, that’s reassuring. And he talked to me like a human being when he told me they are little bitty spider veins that’ll go away after I have baby girl.

And he was funny when he said look, you can play with them by pressing on them and making them disappear for a second!

And he was honest but gentle when I asked him if I’m gaining weight too fast. He said that my bp is fine and my urine is fine so the fact that I’m gaining about 1 1/2 pounds a week and I’m still perfectly healthy means that I may have a little more trouble losing it after the baby comes but health-wise, he’s not concerned. Though I think his honesty about how they like to see women gaining 1/2 to 3/4ths of a pound a week was enough of a kick in the pants to make me stop eating when I’m not hungry. Seriously…1 1/2 pounds per week for 40 weeks?? Do the math – it’s kinda scary.

I’m feeling good overall aside from the sore throat and the low fever I had for the last couple of days. I’m still eating yogurt like it’s going out of style, and I kinda wish I had been keeping track of how many bottles of Simply Orange I’ve gone through in the last 6 months. If I had to guess, I’d say I go through about a bottle every 3 days…162 days so far…that’s 54 bottles of OJ give or take a dozen. I should have bought stock.

My belly button is starting to pop out and I can see it through my shirts sometimes. Have you ever seen the inside of your belly button on the outside? It’s weird.

On a different note, what’s the creepiest thing you’ve ever had in your freezer? I bet I have you beat….

Why yes, those are 28 little plastic babies suspended in ice cubes in my freezer, thanks for asking. Anyone wanna guess why?

My fellow preggo sister and I both went over to my parents’ house earlier in the week and we sat belly to belly for a while letting the babies kick each other through our shirts…

Baby girl was having a field day! I foresee lots of fun playtime between her and her twin boy cousins.

I’ve done some more work in the nursery with the new choice of colors, yellow and red. I had some more fun with white spray paint and sprayed all of the Dollar Tree frames I bought a few months ago, I sprayed some floating shelves we had sitting in a closet, and I bought curtains from Wal-Mart (in crimson) and I puffy heart them…

Can I just say that there are the cutest baby things out there for Valentine’s Day? I couldn’t resist this cutie from Old Navy (it looks pink but it’s actually white):

Funny thing is I had to actually take this picture all contorted to the right because my belly was getting in the picture.

And finally, belly shot week 23:

How about 2 for the price of one?

We’re like 2 ends of a beach ball 🙂

<— 22 weeks

24 weeks —>

4 Comments

Filed under pregnancy, pregnant

4 responses to “23 weeks

  1. Jane

    Awesome! You should go play at Hobby Lobby this weekend, and see about more valentines baby stuff.

    Just out of curiosity, what kinds of names are you thinking of?

  2. amg

    I love the color combo for the nursery — the red really pops in the room!

  3. I know why!!
    You are doing the baby shower game that involves people sucking on the ice cubes and the first to be able to spit out the baby wins. ie…’birth’ the baby Right?! 🙂 haha!
    I saw that game last year and instantly knew that I wanted to do the same thing when I had a baby shower. LOL!!!!

  4. Pingback: 24 weeks | rabit stew

Leave a Reply

