sew worth it

So either I’m easily influenced by you all, or I have some awesome blogging friends that have some really good suggestions.

Look what I did today…

I did it. I bought one. I big ol’ honkin’ sewing machine from Joann Fabrics. I have never in my life even touched a sewing machine until about 20 minutes ago after about an hour spent watching, rewatching and following along with the instructional dvd, stringing bobbins, realizing after 10 tries of trying to pick up the bottom thread with the top that I had the lower bobbin holder on wrong, and then I annihilated one of Scott’s old t-shirts with all of the fun stitches I can now make in seconds.

Hehe, I’m so excited about this you guys, you have no idea. Oh the possibilities! I have 2 very cute pieces of new fabric being fabulously shrunk in the dryer as I type, getting ready to be made into sheets for baby girl’s crib.

Please let this go as well. Please let this go well. Please let this go well.

8 Comments

Filed under crafts, DIY, nursery

8 responses to “sew worth it

  1. That is so awesome! I am using some fabric for projects in our nursery, but all of the no-sew variety. Maybe you will inspire me to get a little more crafty! 🙂

  2. Andrea

    Ok Jamie I’m going to be following this closely 🙂 I so want to add sewing to my crafty grab bag, but don’t have the slightest idea how to use a machine. If it came with a DVD and you say it is easy and doable, I will so be picking one up! You rock! 🙂

  3. Yay! How exciting! I can’t wait to see all the fun stuff you make with it! 🙂

  4. Jane

    Awesome! You should make some footie pajamas for your little girl, too.

  5. I also just got a sewing machine and taught myself a lot using youtube. Good luck with your bedding project. I think you’ll be surprised at how easy it is!

  6. Lea

    Good luck! I wish I could remember all I learned about sewing in 7th grde home economics. I’d be making lots of pillow shaped like whales appliqued with felt fish. (-:

  7. Yessss!! Can’t wait to see your projects from this 🙂 And don’t get frustrated if it doesn’t turn out right the first time – I learned from mistakes so much in the beginning. (Plus, you can usually use a seam-ripper and take out wrong seams and sew stuff back together properly! Not that I’ve ever had to do that. No way, I’m perfect. 😉 )

  8. Pingback: diy crib sheets – they fit! | rabit stew

Leave a Reply

