diy crib sheets – they fit!

I’ve only had this sewing machine for a few days but a monster has already been created. And if I, someone who has never in their life touched a sewing machine, can whip out crib sheets on day 1, either I’m really really lucky or it’s so super easy.

Here are the instructions again from Bundles of Love:

Crib Sheets Pattern

Crib sheets are very easy to sew, and less expensive than purchased sheets.

Recommended Fabrics:

Cotton or cotton-blend woven fabric, or flannel

Directions:

  1. To begin, cut a rectangle of fabric 70″ x 45″.
  2. Cut out a square at each corner that is 8 and 3/4″. (You can save these to make quilt blocks which coordinate with the sheet).
  3. Match up the 2 sides of each cut out square – right sides together – and stitch. This makes the fitted corners.

You can finish the sheet edge in several different ways :

  1. Turn under the edge 1/4 “, then another 1/2″ to make a casing, leaving an opening to insert the elastic. Cut a 90″ piece of 3/8″ elastic, insert into the casing, stitch the ends of the elastic together, and sew the opening closed.
  2. Overcast the edges all the way around with a serger. Sew the elastic on the wrong side with the edge of the elastic even with the edge of the fabric. Stretch the elastic as you sew it on.
  3. Hem the entire sheet, then use elastic only at the corners. Cut four lengths of elastic 15″ long. Stretch from the corner seam 12″ in each direction and sew on using a zig-zag or 3-step zig-zag.

All done! To make it extra special, make a coordinating crib quilt.

I made this one the day I bought the machine…

…and with today being President’s Day and me home with no one to talk to but a few sleeping doggies, I made this one this morning…

I made these slightly differently than the instructions I found said, but I mostly just altered the prep work a little. And yea!! They fit, they’re cute, and I can make them in any pattern I find that I like. 🙂

I believe my next project will be a dust ruffle…I’m thinking flat…with a pleat in the middle…a pleat maybe with a different pattern peaking through…or maybe a satin ribbon trim along the bottom….or tassels….yes, tassels…with beads…or fringe…or fuzzy pom poms…

Sewing monster, I tells ya. I warned Scott that the doggies may be wearing superhero capes, booties, mittens, bandanas, bloomers and little hats by the time he gets home.

15 Comments

Filed under crafts, DIY, nursery

15 responses to “diy crib sheets – they fit!

  1. OMG! The red polka dot sheets are SOOO cute! Love it! I want a sewing machine SO BAD!

  2. Sarah G

    Very cute! I love this so much it makes me want to sew up some sheets just for fun!

  3. Lynn

    So cute! I really want to sew for my little one on the way but I just don’t think I have it in me… Maybe I just need to find someone that wants to make a couple extra bucks to do it for me lol…

  4. OMG I’m so impressed! You have a natural talent with the sewing machine! Those sheets are adorable!

  5. jane

    how much do you want to sew me a prom dress?

  6. AHH! I love those polka-dot sheets!! Good work 🙂

  7. Those are SUPER cute! They look so professional! I’m so glad the sewing machine is working out for you. 🙂 I’m seriously tempted to buy one myself! I can’t wait to see what else you come up with.

  8. these are freaking adorable! well done!

  9. Awesome!! So glad everything worked out easily – you’re a sewing master already! 🙂

  10. amg

    The polka dotted sheets are adorable! Great job!!

  11. Sarah

    Yay! They are soooo cute!

  12. Pingback: 25 weeks | rabit stew

  13. Linda

    Puhleeeeze open an Etsy shop to start selling your sheets and crib skirts, they are beyond awesome!

  14. Pingback: the nursery to date | rabit stew

  15. Pingback: 38 weeks | rabit stew

Leave a Reply

