25 weeks

Remember those from 1st grade music class? Now I know why me bum is so musical in the mornings. 😉

We’ve officially made it past 24 weeks, the point where baby girl is considered viable…if she were to make an appearance now, she would have about a 70% chance of survival (with medical intervention of course) which to me is a happy milestone that I’ll gladly celebrate!

This week I’ve continued to have Braxton Hicks contractions once in a while which made me nervous at first…should I be timing them? Is that technically ‘pain’ or ‘pressure’? Am I drinking enough water? Why did I still have one after flipping to the magical left side? And now, almost 2 weeks after the very first one, I’m at the point where I know I’m not actually going into labor so I don’t let the occasional 10-second rock-hard soccer ball under my shirt scare the shit out of me anymore. So go on, uterus, practice away!

My inside-out-alien belly button is officially popped out about 1/2 way now and yesterday I noticed that I could actually see it in the mirror under my shirt when I was in the elevator at work…. so I did what I’ve only ever heard my mom talk about…she used to cover hers with band aids. I, on the other hand, used packaging tape. Tomato, tomahto. And my coworkers were none the wiser.

Speaking of coworkers, there is one in particular who 4 times in the last 3 days has looked at me and mumbled “holy shit” under his breath yet loud enough for me to hear. Really, buddy? It’s a pregnant belly. You have 2 children. I’m guessing based on his reaction to my bulge that his wife was one of the women from “I Didn’t Know I Was Pregnant” who never got a baby bump but sat down to poop and out came a baby. There’s no other explanation for his stupidity and if he keeps it up, I’d be happy to give him a reason to actually say “holy shit” when he sees me coming. Butthead.

Happy thoughts. Happy thoughts. Happy thoughts.

I’ve been eating so much healthier in the last 2 weeks and I actually noticed a dramatic drop in how much baby girl kicks me. I think the sugar was really getting her going. Either that or she’s running out of room in there to punch with a good wind-up. Oh, and her kicks have moved more towards my bum. She’s literally kicking my ass. It’s an indescribable feeling really…not indescribable in a “this is a beautiful butt-kicking miracle” way, more in a “I have no actual way to explain how it feels to have a mini person kicking your bum from the inside” kinda way.

A couple of days ago I was having weird tummy pains (not baby-tummy pains) and it took a while, but I finally figured out that they were probably from something I ate. Funny thing is that I didn’t realize it at the time because I no longer have any idea where my digestive tract is since everything has been pushed and squished and moved around to make room for all the new stuff. How weird is that? Do you know where your stomach is? ‘Cause I sure don’t.

I’m still getting my 5 million daily/weekly pregnancy emails and this week I got not 1, but 2 that said this…

 

and…

 

And I can tell ya, after making Scott press his head to my belly a few times, then literally wrestling his ear to my bump in a fit of laughter, he couldn’t hear it. Liars. All of ’em. Although I’m sure the giggling didn’t help.

For anyone that may have missed my new obsession, I started making crib sheets and I completed my first crib skirt to match (the best part is unfortunately hidden under the middle slat but I made a pleat that’s red in the folded part. So proud yet so sad that you don’t see it)…

I plan on making 50 more sheets when I have time. Anyone want one? 🙂

This past weekend, Scott and I celebrated Valentine’s Day. We put it off because guess what I wanted for a present? Food. So we hit up Bob Chinn’s on Saturday for some stuffed shrimp and let me tell ya, I’m happy they have bibs there because I realized that it’s now pointless for me to put a napkin on my lap these days. Why you ask?

Because the food hits my shirt before it gets a fighting chance to land on my lap. (In case you were wondering, those things hiding under my belly are mini pizzas made out of english muffins, pizza sauce, mozzarella cheese and mini pepperoni broiled on high for a few minutes.)

I realized over the last few days that while energy and I had a good 13 week run, energy has officially left the building and I’m now sleepy pregnant lady again. I’m ok with falling asleep at 8:30pm, but life feels incomplete when I make it through 95% of American Idol only to fall asleep right before the last person gets kicked off. Such is life.

Jeez, my posts really are becoming more and more “1000 random thoughts of the week” these days. Gotta love pregnant brain.

On that note, I’ll leave you with a 25 week belly shot…

Good thing I hate feet ’cause I can’t see mine anymore.

For past weeks, visit My Pregnancy Calendar

<— 24 weeks

26 weeks —>

10 Comments

Filed under pregnancy, pregnant

10 responses to “25 weeks

  1. you look amazing! And 25 weeks! Wow… the 3rd trimester will be here in no time!
    As for crib sheets… we seem to manage well with 4… and same with the changing pad covers (which are also lots of fun to make!).

  2. Jane

    OMG, I’m making those mini pizzas. I hadn’t ever thought of them until now. And you’ve made me want shrimp tacos. Aside from food, though, I think you should just run that guy at work over with your car. I know a guy who can stash the body where it won’t be found again. (Jk)

    Awesome, that she could survive on her own, now.

    • I make those at least once a week…just toast the english muffin before you make them into pizzas or else the sauce will make them soggy. I also made taco ones once but having to cook the meat first kinda defeated the whole enjoyment of making a super quick meal. Enjoy!

      And, uh, keep that guy’s number handy, mkay? 😉

  3. Next time you see that guy coming you should “accidentally” trip him!

  4. OMG OMG OMG hold the phone! The teddy bear! Please tell me you had that same one as a little girl and you have now purchased one for your baby! I kid you not: that was my childhood bear and I recently stumbled upon them in a store nearby. I didn’t know they still made the bear, and I pretty much started tearing up in the store when I saw it. Needless to say, I bought two of them for our future hypothetical children. I am crazyyyypants.

  5. I totally saved your tutorial on making baby bed sheets! Love the matching bed skirt. Good job!

  6. you are like the cutest pregnant lady ever!!

  7. Ooooooo I want some of those sheets!!! How much are you charging? I’ve been looking for some pink and brown polka dot ones, pink and white, pink and brown, brown and white, etc. Those are sooo cute! I am in awe of your craftiness…

  8. Pingback: 26 weeks | rabit stew

Leave a Reply

