26 weeks

Ok, I cheated a little on that one, but to my credit I wasn’t in the office Thursday or Friday to actually draw 2 water bottles…

To say it was an eventful week would be an understatement. Not much happened in my actual pregnancy world, but last Wednesday I was knocked out of commission by my back…I have a herniated disc that swells once in a blue moon that then pinches my sciatic nerve. Talk about pain. Funny, last time this happened I told myself that if I could handle this, I could handle labor…guess I’ll find out soon enough! So for a few days I did nothing but lay on my couch in whatever position caused me the least amount of pain, and hobble around on crutches when I had to get up for food or the bathroom. It wasn’t pretty but I’m happy to report that I’m on the mend, back at work today (and already halfway through week 27). Let’s see what my mush brain remembers about last week….

We decided on a first name for baby girl a few months ago which we’re keeping quiet until she arrives. And while I can tell ya I have never really used my middle name, I was struggling to come up with something good for hers. Do we use a grandma’s first name? My mom’s maiden name? Or maybe something that just kinda flows with the first name? And then it hit me. It was perfect. A wonderfully symbolic middle name for our little baby girl. And while she may feel like I do where to her there isn’t much use or significance, it’s meaningful to Scott and I which is enough for me. Can you tell that I can’t wait to share???

Craving this week: Meijer string cheese. I can’t get enough of it!

The biggest news this week is that I’m officially an aunt! My sister was induced on Wednesday afternoon and on Thursday morning, arriving 5 weeks early, Ethan James was born at 7:31am and weighed 5lbs, 5oz, and Caleb Burleigh was born breach at 7:37am weighing 5lbs, 6oz. With my inability to walk for a few days, I didn’t get to meet the little ones until Saturday, but when I did, boy did I fall in love. I’d like you to meet Caleb (Ethan was still in the NICU and I sadly forgot to bring my camera in when I met him). Everyone, say hi to Caleb!

Ah, he’s a natural….

My belly made a nice little shelf…

2 days old and he’s already sitting on his cousin

As for me, meeting these two made me that much more excited to meet the little one who keeps running an elbow under my belly button.

Scott and I signed up for a few classes at the hospital…my mom, sister, Scott and I are taking an infant CPR class together and even though we’ve gotten CPR certification in the past, this one was a must for us. Scott and I also signed up for our hospital tour as well as a class about caring for newborns. Babysitting when we were younger was one thing but I can tell ya neither of us has actually been taught cord care, bathing, infant development, choosing a pediatrician, etc. so I know this one will be really beneficial for both of us.

I have my glucose test today so everyone please keep your fingers crossed that I pass!! I also get to have my doctor fill out my maternity and Scott’s paternity leave paperwork today. And after this appointment, my monthly visits get bumped to every 3 weeks ’cause hoorah! 3rd trimester! We’re in the home stretch!

And finally, since a 26 week belly shot from the couch would have been pretty sad, I give you an upright 26 1/2 week belly:

 

Thanks to my thighs, my yoga pants have officially morphed into leggings.

For past weeks, visit My Pregnancy Calendar

<— 25 weeks

27 weeks —>

15 Comments

Filed under pregnancy, pregnant

15 responses to “26 weeks

  1. Sharon Laechel

    I’m so pumped for you guys! Beautiful pics!

  2. You’re glowing in all your pictures – beautiful!

  3. Congrats, Congrats on becoming an Aunt. So fun that the cousins will be so close in age. And you look amazing! Love your weekly recaps.

  4. How exciting – congrats on being an aunt!

  5. Congrats Auntie! So fun! You look fabulous and I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you on the glucose test… ugh!

  6. Colleen

    Congrats Auntie! Being an aunt is the best thing that ever happened to me, but I also don’t have a cousin for my niece baking at the moment, so you get the best of both worlds! Glad to hear the twins are doing well!

    Meijer string cheese is my favorite- it might be some other brand repackaged, but to me nothing tastes as good as the Meijer kind! 🙂

  7. Congrats on being an aunt! Your nephews are adorable!! Im sorry to hear about your back – I hope you are feeling much better. I am dying to know what names youve chosen!! Only 13-14 more weeks! I bet it will fly by and she’ll be here before you know it!

  8. Tara

    I’m new to your blog and I’m hooked! I’ve got to know where you find your maternity clothes? You always look so good, love the clothes 🙂

    • You are too sweet! Let’s see…

      Anytime you see me in black pants, they are always the same pair of C2 yoga pants from Target. Jeans are also always the same pair that I got at motherhood.com, and all of my shirts/sweaters are from Target, mostly Liz Lange Maternity brand with the exception of a few tank tops and short sleeve shirts from Old Navy.

      And when you don’t see me, I’m in pj pants and Scott’s t-shirt that says “beer makes my clothes fall off”. Not kidding. I should take a picture of that one 🙂

      • Tara

        Well I will be making a trip to Target in the next few months!
        That shirt would be hilarious!!! Thanks 🙂

  9. Lea

    Great pics! My husband also has a herniated disc and sciatic nerve pressure; his pain is the same– debilitating, shooting, sometimes timgling numbness, and, for him, constant. I never knew how much a back injury could change a life– or a lifestyle. He’s had two cortisone shots that haven’t helped, and has a surgical consult at Northwestern at the end of the month. From what I’ve seen of this back pain, I think labor’s going to be a walk in the park for you!

  10. Pingback: 25 weeks | rabit stew

  11. Pingback: 27 weeks | rabit stew

  12. Pingback: 40 weeks | rabit stew

Leave a Reply

