30 weeks

Giraffes eat leaves, right?

I had another 3 week checkup this week and everything is looking great…baby is measuring right on target, my blood pressure is still great, and the shocker that made me very happy was that I’ve actually lost 2 pounds since my last appointment! And as I sit here gnawing on some strawberries pretending they’re donut holes, I can only attribute it to the lack of carbs in my meals these days. Though I still can’t resist when Amy brings me and Scott baked goodies…

This was waiting on the counter for Scott when he got home from work the day I had my doc appointment. He posted this picture on Facebook and asked if he should test the pregnant lady…most of the guys said yes, most of the girls asked if he was insane and wanted to lose a limb. And because I didn’t marry no dummy, he made the right choice and lived to see another day.

It’s funny, I realize that I talk about my weight on here quite a bit which I never thought would really be an issue in my mind, but I’ve come to realize that no matter how big or small you are to begin with, it’s still strange to have the scale slap you across the face with numbers that you may have never seen before, even if there’s a good reason for it. And while I pretty much hate the all-encompassing, negative, opinionated garbage that What to Expect sends me via email (why I haven’t cancelled that subscription yet is beyond me), I have been utilizing their weight gain tracker…not so much for their ridiculous idea of where I should be because they just seem to know me so well and consider me a big fat ass, but more so I have a place to look back and see the process. This is me to date…

Stupid stupid white lines, I’m coming to get you!

This week, I’ve still been having Braxton Hicks contractions, though I don’t think I’ve gone a day without at least one since the first one that I noticed. Now that baby is running out of room in there though, I’ll start to feel what I think is a BH contraction only to realize that nope, it’s actually baby girl cramming her entire body to one side, making my tummy rock hard on that side and squishy and empty on the other. Baby? Perhaps. Alien? More likely.

And thanks to a comment from Julie D. on my 28 week post, she gave me this awesome link on belly mapping from a book her doula lent her and it totally helped me realize what body parts I’ve been feeling. This is how I’m pretty sure baby girl is lying most days (though she’s much cuter from the front):

Butt and feet on my right, knees on the left, little hand tickles down low and a big ol head sitting comfortably near my bladder. If I poke feet, knees jut out and vice versa. And Scott has started enjoying playing with her feet at night ’cause she completely kicks back when he nudges them. Though it tickles the crap outta me since it’s still my tummy they’re feeling each other through!

The weirdest thing that happened this week was when I went home for lunch one day and I caught the tail end of A Baby Story. And no shittin’ ya, the doctor that delivered the baby was none other than Dr. H, the one doctor in my practice that I don’t want for my delivery! And knowing that I could get a sneak peek of what delivery with her would be like, I searched high and low for the episode online and couldn’t find a video for it. Oh well.

It’s funny, I’m not nervous in the slightest for labor and delivery. I think it has a lot to do with the fact that while I can read as much as possible about it, I won’t know what to expect until I’m there. I think the thing that actually scares me is that once this baby is out, I can’t put her back in. Pain? Stitches? Floppy stretched out vagina? Pshaw, it’s all temporary. The fact that I’ll be a mommy for the rest of my life? Now that’s a scary thought.

And finally, your 30 week belly shot:

Wearing yellow today in anticipation of summer (and because I wanted to wear blue but don’t have anything blue that fits me anymore). 🙂 Why yes, that is a beach ball under my shirt, thanks for asking.

For past weeks, visit My Pregnancy Calendar

<— 29 weeks

31 weeks —>

13 Comments

Filed under pregnancy, pregnant

13 responses to “30 weeks

  1. You look amazing! 🙂 I think I was on that “over” trajectory as well and got yelled at… but whatever. If there’s a next time, I’m yelling at my Dr. for yelling at me. 🙂

    • Seriously, everyone is so different and they can’t expect everyone to gain at the same rate. By week 16 I’d already gained more than my sister had and she was 8 weeks ahead of me and carrying twins, yet to date, I’m still well within the desired gain. I’ll yell at your doc with you if you yell at WTE with me 🙂

  2. i’ve thrown hissy fits when kevin has eaten something that i had been saving for myself, and i don’t even get the justification that i’m pregnant. i love that drawing you made on your belly. and re: the weight gain–yeah those white lines would really piss me off.

  3. amg

    Oooh, that scotcheroo looks mighty tasty…. 🙂 You look amazing, as usual!

  4. I really hope that someday when I have kids that I’m as cute of a pregnant woman as you are. You look amazing!

  5. Jane

    Wow. That’s one hell of a beach ball. And thanks for inspiring me, yet again– next week a friend is coming over to make oreo balls, and now we’re also going to make scotcheroos.

  6. You look AMAZING!!! Seriously.

    Also, what are those baked goods????? They look amazing too.

  7. I love your note!! It had me laughing. And, as always, you look so amazing.

  8. Cari

    those brownies are making me drool right here @ my desk, they look so freaking good!

    haha you do not look like you have a beach ball under there maybe a half blown up one & I am doing that belly mapping thing when I get home that is pretty awesome

  9. Pingback: 29 weeks | rabit stew

  10. Pingback: 31 weeks | rabit stew

  11. Rosey.

    Hey how r u ? Don’t want to sound rude but I don’t think babies just chill out on their side like that during pregnancy. I have a feeling they are like facing the same way ur facing except their little limbs r cooped up at the sides. Just my thoughts anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

