beautiful day, beautiful shower

Baby girl had her first official party this weekend where she was showered with gifts and love from some of my favorite people. My sister and I think alike when it comes to throwing a good low-key party and this one was no exception. We had cake, we played games, 2 of which had me in tears (one for sentimentality, one for purely ridiculous hilarity), we ate and laughed and shared stories of the good, the bad, and the ugly of pregnancy and babies and life in general. I couldn’t have asked for a better day in honor of my daughter.

My daughter.

Wow, that just filled my eyes with tears.

 

 

 

And the absolute best picture of the day…I didn’t even know I could make this face, let alone laugh so hard at the same picture as many times as I already have:

Thank you to everyone who made the day so special, I’ll never forget it.

9 Comments

Filed under pregnancy, pregnant

9 responses to “beautiful day, beautiful shower

  1. Carol

    I am sure your guests had just as good a time as you did…I laughed till I cried filling in the Mad Libs…you J girls know how to throw a party!! Thanx for including me! xoxo

  2. Aw, that shower looks wonderful! And I know I’ve said this about a million times in your comments (and I’m sure I’ll say it at least a few dozen more) but you are THE CUTEST pregnant woman ever!

  3. Creen

    Could you tell me more about the games you had?
    I’ll be planning a shower soon.

    • We played:
      1) Cut a piece of ribbon to the size of how big around you think the momma-to-be is. Closest gets a prize. It’s fun cause I got hugs from each person as they put their ribbon around my belly!
      2) Everyone wrote a wish for baby girl on a cutout of a onesie and they’re all strung from a ribbon with mini clothespins (from Party City in the baby shower section)…I’m going to hang it in the baby’s room.
      3) Everyone got a clothespin when they got there. No one was allowed to say the word ‘baby’. If you were caught saying it by someone you had to give up your clothespin. Person with the most at the end of the shower wins a prize.
      4) My sis turned a few of my blog posts into Mad Libs. People paired up and had to fill out a list like “noun____, verb_____, person’s name____, etc., then fill in the blanks in a printout of the post. Then they had to read them out loud. This was by far the funniest moment of the day!
      5) At my sister’s shower, I gave everyone an ice cube with a mini plastic baby frozen into it (from Party City) and they had to figure out how to melt the baby out the fastest. Biting the ice cube was not allowed.
      6) Have everyone self-address an envelope…then give the envelopes to the momma-to-be after the shower, this way she doesn’t have to fill them out herself when she sends thank you cards. (Not really a game but SUPER helpful!)

  4. OMG, your belly! You are so, so cute pregnant!

  5. cari

    looks like your shower was great! I have mine on Saturdy, I cant wait 🙂

Leave a Reply

