still here

39 weeks + 5 days

Last night I got home from work, said my hellos to the pups and kissed Scott goodbye as he left for a ride on his scooter in the steamy 90 degree air. And about 10 minutes after he left, all of a sudden a pain shot across the lower front of my tummy and hovered for a few minutes, just long enough to knock the wind outta me and make me truly believe that I was having a real contraction. I got up, went downstairs and sat on the couch with my phone in my hand, contemplating whether or not to call Scott to come back home. So I did. And he did. And even on a scooter, he still managed to check his phone, call me back, and be home within 10 minutes (which is awesome considering he has his first softball game of the season tonight and I’ll be home without him for a few hours). And for the rest of the night I didn’t once experience the same pain; while I was achy here and there, I knew it wasn’t the real deal.

Yet.

Poops.

I have the last of my scheduled weekly doc appointments today, so we’ll see if anything new is going on, though I’m not holding my breath. For now, I’ll leave you with my favorite picture from Memorial Day weekend. I call it “cousin lovin”, or “mama, why is there a baby on my head?”:

10 Comments

Filed under pregnancy, pregnant

10 responses to “still here

  1. Sneaky baby was just checking to make sure you were paying attention, ha! Such a cute photo – hope you’re feeling well!

  2. Julie

    That is MY favorite pic too, Mama Bruiser!!! Yo bellay is ree-dick–you-luss!!!!!

  3. such a tease, that little one! very soon though…right?

  4. That picture is so cute! It’s gotta be soon though!

  5. Man I totally would have thought you would have a baby by now! Well any day now then! Good luck to you guys!!

  6. Ah! I thought of you this morning and convinced myself that you *must* be delivering aaaaaaaany second. C’mon baby!

  7. me too girl!!! I had some back/abdominal pains lastnight but not enough to time 😦

    I just got back from the dr and Im 3cm, 80% and she is 0 station so I really hope she comes this weekend if not they said they’ll schedule to induce once I go for my appt next Tuesday ugh I hope it doesnt come to that lol

  8. Uncle Steve

    U…N…C…L…E!!!

    I have resisted commenting on your blogs until now…but now…IT’S TIME!! Get that cutie out a there, we can’t wait any longer! Hope the delivery is an easy one and it comes SOON!

    Uncle Steve

  9. C’mon baby girl!!!! Your mama is tired and ready for you to come out!! 🙂

  10. jen

    Hi! Thanks for the super-awesome tip on bagel pizzas. Sounds a.maz.ing!

    Also, I’ve been catching up on your pregnancy notes, and loving how funny they are. Loving Hazy in the jumpy thingy. Note to self: must torture my little dog in similar ways. Lifting my shirt and telling her to GIVE RICO KISSES just isn’t amusing me anymore.

    The waiting thing is tricky. I’m at 37 weeks 5 days and trying to remind myself that the “surprise” is what makes this fun. (because the weight of the belly + the heat is NOT making this fun). Although, I also don’t think I’ve been teased by contractions. That will make me think, “GAME ON, LITTLE ONE.”

    Hope your baby comes out to meet you soon!

Leave a Reply

