longest 4 days of my life

After seeing this thread on Weddingbee this morning (I love you all, seriously, you have no idea), I figured I should give you all an update, huh? 🙂

…though…um…there’s nothing to report – we’re still here, no baby girl yet.

The good news is that I’ve officially started maternity leave. Oh, that and my laundry is done. And my car is washed. And my nails are painted. And my house is clean. And my legs are shaved. And the freezer is stocked. And Scott’s hair is cut. And my dvr is full of shows waiting to be watched in between baby naps. And I don’t know what else to do with myself at this point because just short of whipping up a new summer wardrobe for myself, Scott, the baby and the dogs on the sewing machine, I’ve done everything I can to keep the lack-of-anything-labor-related-happening off of my mind.

I swear, this waiting game is like one giant mindfuck that I really didn’t anticipate. First, you find out you’re pregnant. Hooray! Next, you’re told the baby will be due on a date WAY down the road that you immediately burn into your memory. Then, for 10 months when anyone asks you when you’re due, the date just slides right off your tongue – “this summer on June 9th!” “June 9th, 6 weeks from today!” “yep, next Thursday, June 9th!” But guess what?

It’s June 13th.

I knew I preferred spontaneity over planning for good reason.

We were originally going to give baby girl an extra week to say goodbye to all her friends in there…you know… uterus, umbilical cord, my right lung…but wouldn’t ya know it, the darn hospital couldn’t take me this Thursday. And they were all booked up on Wednesday, too. I swear, listening to my doc on the phone with labor and delivery you would have thought she was trying to book a room at the Marriott… I’m just happy they were moving the date up instead of down.

So my friends, with no signs of labor in sight aside from being dilated 3cm for a week now, tomorrow – Tuesday, June 14th – is officially induction day. Labor-day. Baby-day. The-day-I-become-a-mommmy-day. We’ll be heading to the hospital early in the morning, they’ll start an IV at 7:30 am, then we wait……

she’s here! —>

27 Comments

Filed under pregnancy, pregnant

27 responses to “longest 4 days of my life

  1. AH! You’re having your baby TOMORROW!!! I’m so excited for you!

  2. apparently she likes it in there! good luck tomorrow, we will be thinking of you!

  3. Creen - Colleen

    Yay!!! Can’t wait for the updates!

  4. Creen - Colleen

    PS: My mom was out mowing the lawn the day she started having mild contractions.

  5. Jenn/Plaid

    Yay! You’re baby’s coming! And no one will ever forget her birthday cause tomorrow’s Flag Day. (Except that no one really celebrates that one, but whatever.) Good luck lady!!!

  6. Jane

    Whooyeah! Finally! Can’t wait to hear her name, and hear all about your labor!

  7. So exciting! Can’t wait to hear the birth story and see some pictures over on Weddingbee!

  8. Liz

    Good luck!!! I’m so excited for you to finally meet your baby girl!!

  9. Lauren (Elephant)

    How exciting!!! Good Luck tomorrow!

  10. Whoot whoot. So freakin excited for the whole family.

  11. Mandy

    Yay, glad to see an update, but was really hoping it would be that you were heading to the hospital….
    Glad to see you pop over to the Bee earlier!! Can’t wait to see pics and hear all about baby girl 🙂

  12. I think it’s so sweet of baby girl to give you plenty of time to finish up those last minute things like nail painting and hair cuts! 😉 Can’t believe you’ll get to hold her in ~ 24 hours — good luck!

  13. yay!!! I gotta wait til Thurs, unless something happens before then….good luck tomorrow cant wait to see pics and hear all about it

  14. Good luck tomorrow!!
    I was talking to a woman the other day and she said that we should just tell people that our due date is 2 weeks later than it really is so that we don’t have to have everyone calling and asking “is she here yet????” 🙂

  15. ahhh so exciting!!!! good luck tomorrow!

  16. Britny

    Good luck tomorrow! Soon you and Scott will be cuddling your little girl…how exciting! Thank you for all of your honesty and humor…it is such a joy to read your blog and I look forward to hearing all of your mommy-related stories!

  17. YAY! So excited for you! Congratulations!

  18. Eeeeee tomorrow is Baby day!!!!! I’ll be thinking of you and baby girl! I hop everything goes smoothly 🙂

  19. Thinking of the Nachos today! We can’t wait to meet baby girl!

  20. Thinking of you today! Congratulations!!

  21. I read somewhere that only 5% of babies are actually born on their due dates. 5%! That means there’s a 95% chance your baby WON’T come on that date. So you can make a pretty safe bet that that’s the one day they WON’T be born. Kinda emphasizes out the ‘E’ in EDD, doesn’t it? Hope all is going well, thinking of you xxx

  22. Jennielee

    wooohoo!! how exciting!

  23. Pingback: 30 Week Update « Little Seed of Hope

  24. I’m thinking of you guys!! I can’t believe it’s time. So exciting!

  25. Hi,
    I am writing a book called “So…How Did You Meet Anyway?” It is a collection of people’s “how we met” stories.
    I have posted the stories which have been sent in on;
    So…How Did You Meet Anyway?
    http://wwwsohowdidyoumeet.blogspot.com/
    I am always shopping for stories and I would like to add yours. Please check out the site, and if you would like to contribute your “how we met” story contact me at;
    susan.amestoy@gmail.com
    And if you would like any more information about the upcoming book, here is a link to a television interview I did in May.
    http://www.wcax.com/story/14708398/author-collecting-love-stories
    You must be a Mom by now…that is wonderful! I have three girls and it’s the best.
    Take care and…congratulations!
    Susan

  26. So excited for you guys! Hope you’ve met your baby girl by now and everyone is doing well!!!

  27. Pingback: 40 weeks | rabit stew

Leave a Reply

