sick Summer bear :(

Nothing says, “good morning momma!” like exorcism-style vomiting. Seriously, in her 8 weeks of life, this little one hasn’t seen the movie yet, I promise, but she opens her mouth and out it comes like she’s been studying the retched scene of a green-faced Linda Blair for years. This is no spit-up, my friends, it’s a hose turned on high-stream-power-washer. A geyser, really. And I have to say I’m getting quite good at recognizing the strange puzzled look on her face a half second before it happens.

It’s sneaky, quick, and if you blink, you just might miss it, regret it, and never blink again. I’ve gotten so good, in fact, that I pat myself on the back at times like this morning where I was able to grab, flip and aim the baby away in one quick motion and not a drop ended up on either of us. Granted, we may have to start remembering not to pile things on the floor next to the bed like the unfortunate blanket, books, burp cloth and sleep sack that met their match this morning, but I still deem it a success considering no costume change was needed for either of us and we’re still enjoying our pjs.

For now.

My little baby bear is sick. She officially has her first cold, confirmed by the doctor on Wednesday, and she and I are both miserable.

I wish I could take it away, wave a magic wand and make her feel better. But for now I’ve accepted that the best I can do is hold her close and keep her snuggly, dry, fed, and cozy warm. The laundry will wait, the dishes will wait, the wrappers and coffee mugs all over the place….aw who am I kidding, that was all there before she got sick. 🙂

She has a sad little look in her eyes, when she eats she can’t breathe so she throws up instead and when she cries, it’s not just an “I’m hungry” cry, it’s a painful “take it away, mama ’cause it hurts” cry and it’s breaking my heart.

I thank God it’s just a cold but I know how bad it feels when you can’t breathe out of your nose and your head throbs when you move and I want to make it all better for her but I can’t and it’s killing me.

I didn’t get any smiles from her yesterday which, along with the snuffly breathing and coughing and the desire to be held all day long (her, not me)…(ok fine, maybe me a little, too) tells me just how awful she’s feeling. So I’m summoning your happy thoughts because I believe in the power of good energy and love…


Please send your happy thoughts her way…thoughts that will dance their way into her sleepy dreams…good wishes for her to feel better… and tell those nasty germs to go away and leave her alone because momma needs to see those smiles and know that her little one is happy again.

Nope, no, you could not be any cuter. 🙂 Come on happy thoughts!

17 Comments

Filed under sadness, Summer

17 responses to “sick Summer bear :(

  1. Go away you mean germies and leave lil summer squash alone! Sending lots of loving, feel good vibes & germ fighters your way.

    hope the smiles come back asap!!

  2. Aw! Such a cutie. Have you tried a bath with the J&J vapor relief? I’m not a baby but even I like it 🙂

  3. Awww poor thing. Hopefully her little immune system gets stronger after this bout of sickness and she can be a healthy, happy, smiling Summer again soon. Sending her well wishes!

  4. Gah! Kayla has that onesie at the end too! 🙂 I’m hoping for some peace for you girls soon! For now, relish in those amazing snuggling sessions with her…I miss those! 🙂

  5. Awww, poor baby! And poor Summer too!

    Sending positive, healthy thoughts your way. Hope she is feeling better soon!

  6. Aww, I hope Summer feels better soon!

  7. Awww, poor little girl. You better get used to that “wanting to take all the pain away” feeling, ‘coz that’s your life from now till…well, probably ever! Sending the strongest get well soon vibes that I can 🙂 xxx

  8. oh no 😦 poor Summer. Braxton sends her get well wishes (Braxton is her internet stalker buddy that was born the same day BTW)

  9. oh poor sweetie! i hope she feels better soon–one’s heart hurts thinking of such a sweet little thing feeling miserable.

  10. Oh nos. Feel better little Summer Bear.

  11. Poor baby! I hope she feels better soon!!

  12. Megan

    Oh no Summer bear!! Get better soon little one – sending germ-free hugs your way!

  13. Oh! Poor Summer! I’m sending tons and tons of happy thoughts her way (and yours for being such a sweet good mommy)! I hope she gets well soon!

  14. Simona

    Oh poor thing! Do you have a humidifier for her room? Saline drops or breast milk for her nose should help, too. (I find it hard to squirt breast milk with any accuracy, though!).

    James just got over his first cold, too. : (

    I hope it passes quickly!

  15. Poor sweet girl! Hope she feels better soon!

  16. I hope she feels better soon!

  17. Oh no! Poor Summer! I hope she feels better soon so that both of you can get some rest!

Leave a Reply

