breath sounds

It’s official, I’ve crossed over the threshold from normal to whack a doodly doo… my checking-the-baby-to-see-if-she’s-still-breathing-neurosis has gotten worse. Much worse. I now officially check her while I’m sleeping. Not while she’s sleeping, psh that’s a given… you read it right, while I’m sleeping.

No less than twice a week now, I have the same dream in the middle of the night. I dream that the baby is in my bed being smothered in between mine and Scott’s pillows, which is just weird considering we’ve never actually put her in our bed to sleep. And every single time I have this dream, I don’t realize it’s a dream until I have literally bolted upright in a panic, reached in between the pillows and picked up the baby, held her little mouth to my ear to listen for breath sounds, and then realized that I’m actually holding the dog.

Ew

ew

ew.

Sorry, Hazy.

9 Comments

Filed under doggies, ridiculousness, Summer

9 responses to “breath sounds

  1. LOL! I’m sure this isn’t funny in the moment you wake up, but it’s hilarious to hear about poor Hazy!

  2. HAhahahah! That’s awesome. I have woken up several times to find a cat has snuck into our room and curled up near my head with their butt in my face. Pets are so charming, huh?

  3. teehee. hazy’s probably wondering why all the extra attention to her bumhole.

  4. Creen - Colleen

    Ummm weird. I just read an identical post, by a new mom’s blog that I follow, a few days ago. Here is the link:
    http://gratia-desiderata.blogspot.com/2011/10/i-have-dream.html

  5. OMG that’s hilarious. I’m sure I’ll do the same thing someday!

  6. Marianne

    That’s so crazy that you found my blog and that we were writing about the same dreams, in two different countries! Also very interesting after reading your blog a bit that your husband works in radio as I have a morning radio show and my husband is in radio too!
    Thanks for the comment:)
    Marianne
    http://gratia-desiderata.blogspot.com

  7. m@7.7.11

    Ha! My baby girl is a month younger than Summer and I also have this dream ALL. THE. TIME. I also read the post you linked to and I also bolt upright from a deep sleep every hour to check on her. I think we’re normal… are we normal?

  8. hahaha this is too funny! Hopefully that panicked feeling will pass soon!

Leave a Reply

