it’s not just for teeth anymore

Ok, so I’m not sure if I’m late to the party or if this is truly a rare sparkly nugget of intellectual gold I’m about to bestow upon the world but…

…wait for it…

toothpaste.

polishes.

silver.

No, I will not shut the eff up.

While I’m guessing most people have heard this little gem before, if you’re like me you have yet to try it. Considering I pretty much only ever wear silver or white gold, all of my jewelry inevitably ends up tarnished and in the back of my jewelry box never to be seen again. So when, on this fine Monday morning, I decided to go with a maternity shirt (yes, I know I gave birth 4 months ago) paired with the same threadbare ass pants I wear to work every single day, I pulled out a silver necklace that I thought would be the perfect accessory to deflect the eye from my polka dot underwear showing through the seat of my pantaloons. 

Some might say I push the limits of business casual.

My plan was about to fail when I pulled the necklace out of my jewelry box to find it had tarnished to a lovely shade of  bronze, so I grabbed the toothpaste, made half an effort to rub it around, and holy crap, that shit actually works! And now I’m loving my necklace again. And of course I didn’t take a before picture of the necklace because I didn’t expect it to work so well that it would get its own post today, but here’s a spectacular shot of the after. 

Necklace is an Elsa Peretti hand-me-down from my sis):

*sidenote – As a self-proclaimed jewelry hoarder who usually buys her stuff at streetfests and stores that end in *Mart, I had no idea this type of necklace is called a lariat. And did you know that you’re supposed to tie it in a knot? I certainly did not. Now I know why I got so frustrated with the darn thing falling off every 5 minutes the first time I wore it. Live and learn. 

So while running out the door this morning, I threw the toothpaste in my purse along with another very tarnished bracelet and necklace so I could brighten up some more jewelry and show you before and after photos like a good blogger should. I polished them over a cup of coffee while going through my emails….

My birthday gift from Scott a few years ago, Tiffany’s bracelet before and after:

Christmas gift from Amy last year before and after (and no Aunt Carol, I’m not pregnant again, promise 🙂 ): 

Pretty cool, no? The downside to today’s discovery is that I have a whole jewelry box to tackle and I won’t sleep until it’s finished. Upside? I’m pretty sure I heard someone whisper ‘I’m impressed’ when I walked off the elevator. 

Or… maybe it was ‘I smell Crest’. I do smell kinda minty.

13 Comments

Filed under Office Jaime, ridiculousness

13 responses to “it’s not just for teeth anymore

  1. That worked great! The other one that I found works really well to polish my silver jewelry (that someone told me about after I complained I did the same as you – let my silver tarnish and then never wear it again) is a paste of baking soda and water. Use a cloth and it works great (though not as minty fresh, I’ll admit).

    However, I have a tea set that my aunt gave me as a wedding present that has tarnished horribly, and I’m wondering if that trick will work on the much larger teapot… one of these days I’ll actually find out!

  2. Carol

    Really cool…and even better than the diamond in dish detergent trick!! We’re even 🙂 And…glad ur not preggers..whew!

  3. Wow! I had no idea toothpaste does that! Man I shouldn’t have thrown out the jewelry last month. ugh!

  4. Wow, I’m amazed!! I had no clue – I’m definitely going to have to try this.

  5. Awesome! I was just wondering what to do about all my tarnished jewelry the other day! Perfect timing..

  6. love the before and after pictures. i’ve had to use this technique more times than i care to admit on the silver earrings i wear almost every day.

  7. I had no idea that you could do this – I have a jewelery box full of silver necklaces that I don’t wear anymore because they’re tarnished. Thanks for the tip! I’m definitely going to try it.

  8. Beth F.

    YES! I discovered this a few months ago & it works SO well!

    Hubby bought me Tiffany earrings & they were tarnishing, but this made them like new again 🙂

  9. Yep, I’ve done this before, it works great!

    It’s just too bad it doesn’t work on my cheap Target jewelry that looks tarnished, but really it’s just the silver paint has flaked off, leaving the gross metal under it exposed 😦

  10. You. Are. A. Genius!

  11. tooth paste is the bee’s knees kid! glad it works well for you. Every now and again (while brushing my teeth) I polish up my wedding band . Gross I know, but when u have a dino midgit running around, you do what is easy.

  12. I had to come back to say THIS IS AMAZING. I pulled out some earrings I wanted to wear this morning, realized they were tarnished and had about 30 seconds before my ride showed up. I remembered this post, and voila! Shiny silver earrings again, so fast! Best trick ever. Thank you 🙂

  13. Teri Lona

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!|

Leave a Reply

