missing

Last Seen: 10/20/2011

Age At The Time of Disappearance: adopted 80ish years ago when my grandma married my grandpa

Date of Birth: 3.3 billion years old

Gender: are diamonds female?

Height: about 2mm

Weight: 0.03 carats

Hair: do little lint fuzzies count? If so, then multicolored

Eyes: um, sparkly?

Identifying Marks: rose cut, antique, years of loving wear and tear

Last Seen Wearing: my wedding band as a full body wrap with all of her little sparkly friends, now she’s running around naked somewhere

Nickname(s): Gertrude, Slim, and Slim Gertrude

😦 Gertrude has done gone missing and now my ring looks like a toothless toddler. I’m hitting the jeweler on my way home tonight, let’s hope they can replicate the diamond and stick her new twin in the channel setting nice and snug. Please please please be fixable.

Have you ever lost a stone out of a ring? Are eternity bands fixable?

10 Comments

Filed under Ring, wedding ring

10 responses to “missing

  1. Oh no! I hope it’s fixable – I’ve thankfully never lost a diamond in mine. Let us know what happens!

  2. I’ve never lost one, but it is a fear! I hope it’s an easy fix.

  3. Yes, I’ve lost 2 tiny stones out of mine before, and it was easily fixable. If your ring is insured, the insurance company might even cover the cost if you do a little paperwork (fax them an estimate, etc).

  4. Aww 😦 I hope it is fixable! I lost a sapphire out of my engagement ring in the washing machine once. I burst into tears and felt so bad when I noticed…then I went through each piece of clothing very carefully, and at the bottom of the machine I found it! Massive relief. I hope that your missing diamond story has a happy ending as well!

  5. Oh no! The stones in my wedding band were my Grandma’s too. One fell out when I snagged it on our steering wheel (THAT takes talent) and oh-so-magically I found it. They were able to get it back in without a problem.

    Good luck!!!

  6. Oh sad! I hope it’s fixable!!

  7. Booo! I lost a diamond in my ring too, and it was quick to replace. Hope yours is an easy fix as well!

  8. Aww, so sorry you’re missing a stone in your wedding band! The good news is that eternity bands are easily fixable with a good jeweler — when one of mine fell out over a year after the wedding our jeweler fixed it for free (and added a free polishing) because they had a lifetime guarantee. Also, if it’s insured the insurance company may cover the repairs. Good luck!

  9. I have an eternity wedding band, and mine also fell out a few short months after the wedding. Luckily, it’s totally fixable! 🙂

  10. Pingback: diamonds, cupcakes and snail mail | rabit stew

Leave a Reply

