the sleepy world traveler and a giveaway!

This weekend we packed up a bunch of our stuff and took our first trip as a family of three, hitting the airways to San Antonio for a friend’s wedding. Scott and I were both nervous not knowing what to expect, knowing that traveling with a baby could go one of two ways, so we decided to hope for the best but prepare for the worst. And now that it’s over, I can honestly say that….

well, I’ll just let the pictures do the talking.

Ok, don’t tell daddy but imma bout to have a poop-splosion and there’s no changing table in the bathroom.

Eat, check. Poop, check. Shoulder, check.

Tell me this baby doesn’t like Texas.

Holy crap, this place is exciting.

Rehearsal dinner…

2 choices for the best Old Navy party dress in size M for mini:

Score 1 for the LBD..

This next picture just melts my heart, she had this vulnerable look on her little face when she was in her daddy’s arms just begging him to never let her go.

Our first family photo taken, and it only took 5 months to take one…

I swear after this trip that we have a world traveler on our hands, she was a perfect little angel the entire time. And if you made it all the way through the pictures (I kinda feel like an old great aunt…let me pull out the slide projector and show you all my exciting trip to the Alamo), then you made it to the giveaway! My sweet boss got us a Sophie for Summer but she already has one. I seriously don’t know what it is about this thing, this coveted giraffe is nothing more than a $30 squeaky dog toy, but babies can’t get enough of it. Don’t believe me? She’ll do this for hours… 

And considering the fact that there’s a fat chance that I’ll ever make it to Schaumburg to return it to the store it came from, my laziness is your gain. Leave me comment below…tell me where the best trip you’ve ever taken was to, whether it was to the other side of the world or in a tent in your backyard, and I’ll pick a random winner on Wednesday, 11/9 at noon CST (just make sure you fill out the email field when leaving your comment, I’ll get it in my email that way).

Oh, and p.s. I will ship internationally. 🙂

There’s only room for 1 Sophie in this joint, and she was sucking on the one we’re keeping. Promise.

56 Comments

Filed under Summer

56 responses to “the sleepy world traveler and a giveaway!

  1. Such a sweet baby! I have to say the best trip I ever took was flying to Manchester UK in February 2010. I was actually moving to join my husband and was so excited to be reunited with him for the last time! I also got to fly first class thanks to the insane number of frequent flyer miles my hubs racked up while we were dating long-distance. So awesome!

  2. Natalie

    My favorite trip was to the Outer Banks, North Carolina two years ago. My husband went there for our “mini” moon and had a wonderful time. We went in October – which is after tourist season so we had the town to ourselves. The coolest thing was driving a Jeep on the beach and seeing wild horses!

  3. Colleen

    Our favorite trip was our honeymoon to Hawaii for 10 days…even though Aunt Flo came with! 🙂

  4. The best trip I ever took was to Scotland with my family and church. I wanted to move there!

  5. Oh this is a hard one! My favorite trip was probably the first trip I ever took to NY. I was 15 and in love with this big city.

  6. Looks like you guys had a great time in Texas! She’s too cute in that little black dress!

    If I had to pick one favorite, I would have to go with our family trip to Trinidad and Tobago. It’s the country my dad was born, and my brother & I had never been. We finally went, and my husband got to come with. It was great to see where my dad grew up.

  7. Hmm, best trip ever. Honestly, the trips to New Orleans when I was a child are what I have the fondest memories of. I’ve been to Europe (more than once), but I still wish I could go back to New Orleans more than anywhere else.

  8. My best trip was definitely to Italy and Ireland for our honeymoon. The flights from the U.S. to Italy and from Ireland back were awesome, but the flight in between was… less than fabulous. I loved visiting Europe for the first time with my new husband and seeing all of the history and culture!

  9. Oph

    My best trip was to Australia followed closely by my trip to Ireland. Those are the only times I went international and they were a blast! Glad your trip went so well, y’all looked great!

  10. m@7.7.11

    not to be a downer and ruin the giveaway but you can probably return it without a receipt…. ? too late now, i know… your hair looks fantastic and summer is as sweet as always!

    • I actually have the receipt, I just know I’ll never remember to bring Sophie with me if I ever make it near the store! I’m one of those people that clips a coupon for bread, sticks it to my fridge, then goes out and buys bread completely forgetting the coupon!

  11. Janice

    I don’t travel much, and so my best/fav trip (so far) would be my first white Christmas to Lake Tahoe. Learning to ski was a blast!!

  12. Hahaha I love this post and every picture in it!! She’s such a sweet girl, and you picked the cutest little dress for her! I have no need for a toy giraffe, so don’t enter me in the contest–give it to someone who needs it 🙂 I just couldn’t NOT comment on how cute she is!

  13. Sara D.

    My favorite trip was to Japan with my husband when we were dating 🙂

  14. Bree

    Can I just say I started getting nervous seeing that you were about to get on a plane with a baby? I’m currently pregnant and this is seriously one of my greatest fears already. There always just seems to be that one parent who looks like they’re about to throw themselves off a cliff because their kid is just. not. having. it. So glad Summer did awesome!

    And my favorite trip was to Coasta Rica a few years back. Great beaches, great surfing, and great food.

  15. Kayley

    I’m a roadie from Weddingbee and your little one is just so adorable!

    Best trip ever? Honeymoon spent backpacking through Europe without a care in the world. We bought round trip tickets to Barcelona and had 14 days to figure it out. I loved every minute (minus spending a night in the hospital but it makes for a good story).

  16. Awww, Summer looks like she had a fantastic time on your trip! That little black dress just made me *so* excited to dress my little girl up when the time comes. The cuteness!!! Anyway, I think my best trip ever was my honeymoon, despite getting hit with a tropical storm. We had such a great time and made some great memories. 🙂

  17. Sarah

    Even though we didn’t go super far, I think the best trip was to Quebec City, we decided to screw shopping and spend all of our spending money on glorious FOOD. It was awesome 🙂

  18. Kelly

    My favorite trip was to Bermuda with my Grandmother, Sister and Cousin. It was the first time I ever went anywhere “tropical” and on a cruise ship. I loved every minute of it. Now that my grandmother is gone, I always have that great memory of the wonderful vacation she took us on.

  19. Jennielee

    What a great baby! Looks like you had an awesome time! My best trip is any trip to Walt Disney World with my husband. We are fanatics.

  20. Ashley

    My favorite trip was to NYC in September. We visited family and my hubby and son went to the city for the first time!

    demureprincess7(at)gmail(dot)com

  21. Brittany

    My favorite trip is a tie between a trip to Nashville with my now husband – it was our first date and we had such a wonderful time! (I had already known him for a few years so didn’t want you to think that I go out of town with a random for a first date) and my honeymoon with my husband – we went on a Caribbean cruise to Cozumel, Belize, Grand Cayman, and Honduras.

    I can’t wait for the first family trip with my son. We are hoping to take him on a cruise once he is old enough (he is only 5 1/2 months now)

    LOVE Summer’s little black dress – I hope to have a girl in the future to dress up – for now my son will just have to suffer the many outfit changes I make him endure.

  22. My favorite vaca had to be in 2008 when me and 18 other family members too a trip to the world down under to visit friends and family. While we were super cramped on space the entire 2 months, it was an awesome time!!

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE your hair!!!

  23. Laura Andrews

    Cozumel with my husband (then boyfriend). It wasn’t so much about the trip as it was about spending time with the man I love!

    I’m glad your trip went well, I’m nervous about travel with my daughter, who is 8 weeks old.

  24. Lisa

    My favorite trip was my honeymoon to Punta Cana. There is nothing better than relaxing on the beach with a fruity drink in your hand with your new hubby!! Love Summer’s black dress. So cute.

  25. She is getting so big! I bet her buddy Braxton would love a giraffe! We haven’t traveled far with Braxton yet, just local trips. I have two favorite trips tied for first place. !st was a family Christmas in Hawaii, the 2nd was a Family trip to Orcas Island.

  26. Your baby girl gets cuter with each post! And I love your hair! And did your sister make it back from Mexico okay?

    We’d also love to try Sophie! With the way Lilly is chomping her fingers lately, I think she’ll be teething sooner rather than later!

  27. And oh duh. I’m blaming mamababy brain for not answering your question!

    Our best trip was to Costa Rica last October… I found out I was pregnant 2 days before we left and we were so excited about the baby – it was all we talked about all week!

  28. Jennifer

    My favourite trip was the first trip that me and DH took together while we were dating, we loaded up my sports car with us, our gear, my 140 pound dog and took off to Tofino BC, we rented an amazing cabin out there and just relaxed, shopped, swam, and soaked in the hot tub. It was heaven!

  29. Ironically enough, my best trip was to San Antonio with our first child when he was five months old. We went to visit our best friends. 🙂 now my second child is the same age as summer and is starting to teeth..and I desperately need a sophie, ive heard such great things about them!

  30. Aww, what a beautiful family! You are so blessed. 🙂

    Count me in – the best trip I’ve ever had was to Ireland! It’s so beautiful you can’t help but have a magical time!

    Thank you so much!!! lisagoneaussie (at) gmail.com

  31. Lindsay

    I love the photos, so cute!

    The best trip I ever took was with my significant other for our then 1 year anniversary to Niagara Falls, Canada for the week. Seems so simple, but it was the first trip we ever took alone together without meeting friends. I ended up getting sick with a cold too, but it didn’t stop us. My favourite part was after we had dinner at the Fallsview Keg at night, we went on the ferris wheel and on a whim decided to walk the falls at 1am. Unfortunately walking back up that hill killed me because I could barely breathe with a cold. My SO was such a sweetie to me, gave me his sweater, water, even offered to carry me up the hill! Then I ended up sitting on the bathroom floor at night, sick, he sat there with me all night. That was when I knew I wanted to marry him one day. 🙂

  32. Katie S

    My best trip would definitely be our honeymoon through Southern California wine country and then on to Hawaii! 10 days of pure bliss. We also have our first baby due in April, so a Sophie is on our list!
    P.S. Summer is adorable 🙂

  33. Cari

    awe Glad she did so well on the trip….Bre slept the entire time as well!

    I jsut ordered Bre a Sophie I cant wait to get her 🙂

  34. Best trip was the first time I went to London. I fell in love with that place.

  35. She’s so adorable. We’re taking our first plane trip in January and I’m nervous. The best trip I’ve ever taken was to Acadia National Park in Maine. We actually used to go there every other summer growing up and I miss it so much!

  36. My favorite trip I’ve taken was a 15 day road trip to 8 national parks in Utah, Colorado, Wyoming, and Montana. I had just gotten a DSLR 6 months before.. so I was happy to get the chance to take landscape and nature shots while traveling!

  37. The best trip I ever took was to Vancouver, Canada. We did a hike for my husband’s 30th birthday with some friends. It was a 2.1 mile grueling hike on Grouse Grind, also know as “Mother Nature’s Staircase”. We kept each other encouraged and motivated along the route, and when we reached the top, the view was incredible and amazing. It’s experiences like those that we never forget.

  38. I’ll have to say that my best trip ever was going on my honeymoon with my husband! We never did big trips together before the wedding and really haven’t since–most trips now are to and from our parents or to friends that live within driving distance. I hope to take family trips once our little nugget gets here and can’t wait for them!

  39. I was *just* about to check in on your blog and see what was happening with you, since I hadn’t seen any posts on FB lately! Summer is getting cuter by the minute!

    Best Trip: Tie between traveling through Tuscany with my family or studying abroad for 3 months in London (that counts as a trip, right?). Both trips were full of adventure and beautiful sights!

  40. My favorite trip was our cruise to the islands. But I really can’t wait to my kiddos are older so we can go to Disney. One could hope.

  41. Sara Lyn @ Musings of a Mommy

    Me! Me! I’ve wanted one forever, but could never justify the cost. But a giveaway Sophie? Sign me up!

  42. Sara Lyn @ Musings of a Mommy

    Ooops, forgot my favorite trip. Hands down when I travelled to, and lived in Prague. It was just…. magical.

  43. Pingback: Enter to win a Sophie the Giraffe teething toy - ends 11/09/11 | Blog Giveaway Directory

  44. My favorite trip was when my husband and I went to San Francisco for my birthday a couple years ago. We met up with friends and walked along the wharf. He took me to The Melting Pot for dinner and right before our dessert arrived, he got down on one knee and proposed. The waitress brought us champagne and took our picture. We then went and saw a movie at the imax theater, we barely paid attention to the movie. We were so excited about telling all our friends the good news. It was the best and most memorable trip of my life.

  45. I would love to win little Sophie Giraffe for my sweet darling girl. Please enter me.

    Thanks,
    Sue

  46. Natalie L

    My favourite trip was to Veradero Cuba for a friend’s wedding. The place, the people, it was all fantastic. The energy was so relaxing and vibrant, it was beautiful. I can’t wait to go back!

  47. Laura B.

    Great giveaway! I registered for a Sophie but haven’t received her yet. My best trip ever? Probably my honeymoon, if for no other reason than it was my longest vacation ever at a whopping 6 days!

    Laura

  48. Bre

    Everyone needs a Sophie! My best trip was oddly enough driving cross-country with our then 7 month-old, moving from school to start new jobs. It was a moment in time that we were free and it was just the three of us.

  49. Best trip was traveling to Carlsbad Caverns with my then 6 year old daughter and my tiny baby boy. My husband and I took turns with him in a ring sling and slept most of the time and was sweetly cooing the rest. It was peaceful so far under ground, it air was cool. Would love to do it again!

  50. lisa bolduc

    The best trip i have ever taken was to jamaica, it was my boyfriends first time on a plane! Would love to go back!

  51. Trisha

    What a cute little baby! The best trip I’ve taken was with my family to Cancun.
    Trisha
    mahgwi21 at yahoo

  52. The best vacation I ever took, was honestly down to Biloxi, Mississippi, to pick my husband up from his tech school for the AF. It was the longest we’d ever been apart, and going to see the beach together for the first time was AMAZING! 😀

  53. So far the most memorable trip we have taken as a family happened last year during Christmas break (my hubby is a teacher). We loaded up our then 7 month old baby boy and went to Cleveland, Ohio to visit the Christmas story house. We had fun, it was family friendly and we got so many great family photos to the theme of a much loved movie! I would love to do it again in a few years when my little guy is a bit older!

    sarasarasweet@aol.com

Leave a Reply

