the good, the bad, and the ugly

There’s something to be said about a holiday that revolves around food – I’m definitely a big, big fan. Our first Thanksgiving as a family of three was a hoot – we laughed, we cried, we ate, we made our house a Christmas-lit-force to be reckoned with, and we confirmed a suspicion I’ve had…

At first I thought it was just a coincidence, but nope – for the past few months every time my sister, Julie, holds Summer, the baby cries and I have no idea why. It’s funny, for the first few months Julie seemed to be the only person aside from me and Scott who could calm her down when she’d get fussy and now, well,

… remember this baby?

And I do believe it’s not just a fluke because she was happy with me, my other sister and my mom, then would scream as soon as she was in Julie’s arms. And not just once but every time I tried handing her over. We’ll see how long this phase lasts. I feel bad because I love watching people love my baby and Julie only gets to see her once a month now that she’s a few states over. Apparently Scott’s niece was the same way with him for a while but once she finally embraced him…she hasn’t let go since. Hopefully it will be short-lived.

Anywho, here’s to the good, the bad, and the ugly of baby’s first thanksgiving!

The good:

wearing your thoughts on your belly…

putting up the tree…

and getting excited about Santa…

discovering that our cousins’ jumper is SO much more fun than ours…

and finding this awesome hat in our stash of hand-me-downs…

The bad news:

family photos…

and peas…

Seriously, I tasted them and they were gross so I’m not exactly sure why I thought she’d like them. Now sweet potatoes, those are delicious vegetable candy. Mmmmm.

And last but not least, the ugly:

all my hair that fell out post pregnancy is ALL growing in at once now…

Oooo, this is gonna take a while to look normal again.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Holiday, Thanksgiving

7 responses to “the good, the bad, and the ugly

  1. She is just too adorable. I love it! And boo for the awkward hair!! That’s always frustrating to deal with!

  2. Your hair looks so blonde in that picture!

  3. Julie

    um, excuse me. I did not authorize that cleavage shot. And I love that Summer enough for the both of us. She will pass this phase.

  4. m@7.7.11

    i have a fuzzy head too 😦

  5. haha awww the family photo is still adorable even though they don’t look happy at all!

  6. Pingback: macguyver hair gloss | rabit stew

Leave a Reply

