momma’s first Christmas

This is seriously getting out of control.

I realize this whole baby’s first Christmas thing is so much more for me than my 6-month-old, especially considering the girl still believes that toes make the best pacifiers and the word ‘whoa’ is hilarious for some reason and green beans are the devil incarnate served with a spoon. So while wrapping musical toys that light up and blow bubbles, and telling baby girl all about Santa on our drives to Nanna’s, and making her laugh while dancing like a goon to the Beach Boys ‘Little Saint Nick’ has been way too much fun, I’m no dummy thinking that she’s gonna retain any of this. But you know, that’ll never stop me from sucking all the sentiment out of the fact that this is my baby’s first Christmas and honestly, Christmas through momma eyes is pretty freaking fantastic! So this weekend we’ll have the cheesy DVR yule log on the tv and I’ll actually remember to kiss Scott and baby under the mistletoe that we leave up all year round and completely forget about, and I’ll be taking a thousand pictures of Summer ripping the paper on her presents while letting her lick my Christmas ham. Literally. 😉 I can’t wait.

The only thing I haven’t quite figured out yet is what to tell her when she’s old enough to realize we don’t have a fireplace for Santa. If he goes down our chimney, he ends up in the furnace.

11 Comments

Filed under Christmas

11 responses to “momma’s first Christmas

  1. Creen - Colleen

    Santa just came through the door when I was a child. He is magic after all.

  2. Carol

    oooooh…the fireplace thing…my fault…sorry Summer, who knew? 🙂

  3. So sweet – the first Christmas must be so much fun! And I never had a fireplace growing up either – my parents told me he came through the front door.

  4. Summer is so cute in that Santa outfit! We didn’t have a fireplace growing up and my parents told us Santa came through the door as well.

  5. Kathleen

    We don’t have a fireplace either – we use a Santa Key. Here are some if you want to take a look: http://www.hookedonhallmark.com/Santa-Keys_c_1086.html

  6. Lynn

    I was gonna post about a Santa key too… My mom bought a large key from like wal-mart or somewhere that makes keys and we decorated it and tied it with ribbon to a note that said this
    “We don’t have a chimney for you to climb through,
    But if you don’t visit my our house I don’t know what I’ll do.

    Some say you are magic and can use any old key
    As long as we hang it out in a place you’re sure to see.

    So we’re leaving this old key right outside our door
    Saying our prayers, jumping in bed, and we won’t worry anymore.”

  7. Tell her what my parent’s told me; you made him a house key. And Summer is adorable icing on a cake of cuteness– her eyes are so wide open!

  8. Your tree is beautiful & that picture of Summer is too adorbs. Enjoy your first Christmas with her, Momma!

  9. We only had a furnace too, but it never bothered us. Have you ever seen the movie “The Santa Clause?” It has a whole scene about how a furnace can change into a fireplace with some Santa magic. Pretty cool! Merry Christmas and happy first Christmas!

  10. Summer has grown so much! I love that you are getting so excited for her first Christmas. Or your first Christmas as a mom. You are creating new traditions and memories!

Leave a Reply

