happenings

While Summer was obviously on the nice list this year, a point which can be proven with one glance at our living room, aka Toys R Us 2, I do believe I may have landed on the naughty list because I ended up with a stocking full of what you may refer to as ‘the stomach flu’. I lovingly call it ‘kill me know because death has got to be better than this’. The morning after Christmas, or any morning for that matter, there’s something not so fun about torturing your severely dehydrated self with little sips of water that you know will land you head-first back in the toilet only making you more thirsty. I haven’t been that sick since I think ever and I still think I maybe kinda should have taken Scott up on his offer to take me to the ER. Even my breast milk dried up, it was that bad. Luckily for me, Scott was home that day – there was no way I could have taken care of my little one which is just a horrible feeling to begin with let alone when it’s piled on top of a nasty case of the full body shakes. And then, at 7:00pm that night, in a dismal haze I vaguely remember Scott darting in and out of the bedroom while I simultaneously caught the baby mid-air with my eyes closed and arms up as I heard him faintly mutter, “zomg-I’m-gonna-throw-up-blurp….” The next thing I knew, I was pulling my big girl panties up to my chin ’cause flu or no flu, I was officially back on momma duty.

And while I still am and forever will be a strong advocate for ‘formula is fantastic’, I’m convinced that Summer didn’t get sick because of breast milk. It really is a magical thing with all its antibodies and healing powers and fairy dust and stuff and considering that 7 out of the 10 of us that were together got sick at some point over then next week and she didn’t, I think that’s pretty cool. So for a few days after I puked out my spleen, small intestines and a kidney, I was an every 2 hours, no excuses, pumping machine. I was determined to get the boobies working again. And now a week later I’m happy to report the mom boobs are almost back in full force.

Alright, enough about my boobs, enjoy some happy pictures from the holidays…

Everyone opened presents, even the doggies. And as for Summer? Well…my baby’s a natural:

Summer finally got to meet cousin Megan in person and it was love at first sight:

We tried on some Christmas loot from Nanna and Auntie Moosha… I don’t know what it is about this baby and hats but I just want to squeeeeeze her:

We hung out with our cousins, Meat Paws and Caleb and played with the new toys:

And I stumbled upon this ferocious little bear cub roaring at me in the nursery recliner. I think we’ll just have to keep her and meet her demands of lots of kisses to keep her under control. Be afraid…be very afraid:

And on New Year’s Eve, since I was pregnant on our 1 year wedding anniversary and didn’t want to risk sudden death by pastry, we finally ate our wedding cake (still probably not the smartest just coming off the stomach flu but call me brave like that…or just really, really stupid):

And after realizing the hard thing in the middle was a wooden dowel and NOT a solidified worm larvae like I thought at first…

…I’m happy to report that Amy has some mad baking skillz that hold up to the tests of time, a move, a few power outages and a little freezer burn.

I’m also happy to report that I made it to midnight, though that’s more than I can say for this one…

and this one…

She and bedtime bear rang in the new year together in dreamland.

From my family to yours, I hope you had a wonderful holiday!! Happy New Year!

20 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Holiday, New Years, Summer

20 responses to “happenings

  1. Oh. my. That last photo of Summer in the bear hat wins her Cutest Baby Ever award. I love that she licked the wrapping paper! So sorry to hear you had the flu, though – glad it’s gone and Summer missed it!

  2. I have never had the flu, and I hope I never get it. I’m such a whimp when it comes to puking; I had food poisoning awhile back, and I actually threw out my back through throwing up and dry heaving.

    Happy New Year!

    p.s.
    I want Summer’s hat.

  3. My parents had a theory that it wasn’t really Christmas unless someone had the flu. It was every year without fail. You look good in the photos, though! Happy new year!

  4. Gah! I die from the cuteness!
    Glad you are back in the land of the living- the flu sucks!

  5. Pingback: Increase Milk Supply Fenugreek | How to increase milk supply

  6. Oh my stars she is such a big girl. I can’t get over her extreme cuteness! Also, I’m amazed at your boob-persistance. You may just have to be my idol.

  7. Love the pictures of her in that bear hat!

  8. emayendeewhy

    Its great that Summer didn’t get sick but I honestly think it maybe depends on the baby and not necessarily if they are fed breastmilk or formula. My little one has always been formula fed and has never been sick despite being surrounded by sickies. I know “breast is best” (ideally) but lots of nursed babies get sick too.

    • No arguement here! Considering Summer gets formula periodically, too, and there’s obviously no way to prove one way or another why she didn’t get sick, I can’t say for sure it was the breast milk, just a hunch 🙂

  9. Mandy S

    Awww Summer is beyond adorable, those bear cub pics are too cute for words! Glad you are feeling better, and Summer didn’t get it.

  10. summer is so cute–can’t get enough of that bear hat! so sorry to hear that you had the flu, it is so debilitating.

  11. carolyn

    Glad to hear all are feeling well! We spent 3 days over New Years Eve weekend at a pediatrics ER and childrens hospital because our little 2-month old girl did get sick with a 104 fever. I wouldn’t wish it on anyone and I’m so glad she won’t remember it. They chalked it up to a viral infection and luckily my milk supply didn’t diminish. Even sick as a dog, my little chunker was a healthy eater! Good for you on persevering with bringing your milk supply back up!

  12. That bear hat is one of the cutest things EVA!!!

    Sorry to hear that you guys were sick over the holidays, but it’s so great that Summer stayed healthy. Happy 2012 to all of you! 🙂

  13. Pingback: How To Increase Milk Supply Fast | How to increase milk supply

  14. Oh my gosh – that little bear cub outfit is SO SO SO cute!!!

  15. Pingback: How To Increase Milk Supply After 6 Months | How to increase milk supply

  16. Pingback: Increase Milk Supply Fenugreek | How to increase milk supply

Leave a Reply

