baptism dress

So I’ve decided to try my hand at sewing a baby dress… with Summer’s baptism coming up at the end of May, I realized I’d have enough time to figure out how to make a pretty white sundress for her big day and still have enough time to light a match and burn it and then go buy one if needs be. So far I have the shell made and lined, the armpit holes are bound, and it needs to be shortened by about 6 inches.

And now I’m stuck. I don’t know which way to go with the neckline. Collared with pearly buttons? Gathered or pleated? Strappy with wood beads? Drapey with a big gauzy bow? Ah, the possibilities…

 Just brainstorming here. Thoughts or suggestions?

6 Comments

Filed under DIY

6 responses to “baptism dress

  1. Oooh I like the last one with the big bow! But I’m a sucker for anything with a bow on it. 🙂

  2. Kelly

    I vote for the first one or the last one!

  3. Creen - Colleen

    I like the first and last neckline; something along that line.

  4. Loving the first or last option!!

  5. chiming in- agree, first or last! adorable!

  6. What about a simple little sundress with a matching sweater thing?

Leave a Reply

