love love love love, crazy love

“Some of the words I love are silly, happy, funny and love.” – Olaf, Small Potatoes

Next month my little monkey turns 1 and I don’t know how in the world that happened. I swear, I blinked and….

Pow! My baby is a little girl. It’s funny, there was a time when I couldn’t picture what my future child would look like, but now when I look at her, I think of course this is what you look like, somehow I knew this all along.

I miss her when she’s sleeping. I smile when I think about her really happy giggle. I get sad if she’s still sleeping when I leave for work in the morning because it’s so long before I get to see her again. There are days when I think that maybe I love her too much, think about her too much, kiss her, scoop her up in my arms and snuggle her too much, much more than any momma should ever be allowed to love her babies. And then I think if I have the ability to love you this much, of course I will.

I love when I’m holding her and brushing my teeth and she puts her face inches from mine so she can see exactly what’s going on in there, and then she opens her mouth for her turn. I love that she’s the most ticklish just under her chin, her little spot I call her tickle waddle. I love that she loves being outside and exploring, feeling, soaking up and drinking in  nature around her.

She can stand on her own now, she just doesn’t know it yet. She’ll hold on to my hands and I’ll let go and she’ll be all la la la, just standing there all by herself until seconds later she’ll realize she’s not holding on anymore and girly freaks and lunges for me. She’s also learning to imitate us pretty well and is understanding that words actually mean things, specific things. Her first word has officially been said (aside from mama and dada which she got down pat a while back) – my girl looks at Hazy and Princess now and confidently says “dog!” Oh, and barking, like neighing, is of course really really funny.

To view directly on YouTube click here

Last night as Summer and I were sitting on our blanket in the living room with the tv on in the background, all of a sudden I heard the Small Potatoes from across the pond (cutest show in the history of ever) reading my mind. And as my heart smiled while they talked and sang about love, I whispered silently to myself, yes, that.

“I think love is a feeling inside you that can make you much happier than normal.”
“I think love is caring, and making you want to make someone else feel happy.”
“Love feels good in your heart like if you’re an empty heart person, once you have love it will fill your heart up.”

Well said, my potato friends, well said. Click here if you want to see the full 3 minute episode on Disney Jr. and fall in love with some sweet little potatoes while they sing the best little song about love.

She is pure overwhelming love.

10 Comments

Filed under Love, Parenting, Summer

10 responses to “love love love love, crazy love

  1. i cannot believe it’s been almost a year–she is darling, and i have enjoyed every one of your posts about her and motherhood.

  2. She is so precious!!

  3. I can’t believe she’s grown so quickly. She’s so beautiful and I’ve loved seeing her grow. She’s a very lucky little girl to have a momma like you.

  4. I love hearing about/seeing photos of Summer! That smile and those beautiful eyes! How could you not? Can’t believe she’s almost a year…

  5. Morgan

    Where did the time go?! She’s getting so big, and more adorable every day!

  6. loveandrenovations

    Wow! She is so beautiful, and getting SO big!

  7. Mandy

    You always make me cry!

  8. ofamily

    How has it been a YEAR!? Beautiful baby and beautiful post 🙂

  9. Creen - Colleen

    This is the sweetest post yet!
    I can’t find the song when I go to the link 😦

  10. I swear, she is one of the happiest-looking babies I’ve ever seen! I think she knows exactly how much she’s loved.

    Also, I can’t believe she’s almost a year!!

Leave a Reply

