a flutter of butterflies

Our house has a bunch of floors and stairs and while there are technically 4 half-floors, if you put them together they would equal 2 full stories, or I guess perhaps more accurately a 1 story house with a full finished basement.

So the basement…Scott is not a fan because there maybe might have been a little bitty drop of water dribbling down the wall from the window well twice in the last 2 years, and to him, water+basement=mold. I, on the other hand, will happily hang out down there because I think it’s cozy and colorful and if I don’t smell nothin’ funky, don’t see nothin’ furry, and don’t feel nothin’ dewey, it must be safe.

Why thank you, I do pride myself on my ridiculously high standards.

So over the last year the basement has been slowly morphing into a Summer-friendly play zone – an alphabet mat here, an exersaucer there, a wet-vac over yonder and most recently I got some real plastic food for Summer’s real plastic kitchen and she loves the little ice cream cone despite the fact that the ice cream part pops off the cone every 2 seconds. Though I can’t for the life of me figure out why she prefers the plastic ice cream cone over the big plastic steak.

Yes, yes, ’tis a mystery.

Anywho, I made another addition to the playroom this weekend playing off of I Love Beer and Babies’ flock of birds. I drew my own butterfly pattern, threw it away because it looked like the moth on the cover of Silence of the Lambs, made another, took a good long look at it before shaking my head in approval, traced and cut it out a few million times, threw in a few dozen wall stickers from Dollar Tree and we now have a very pretty basement wall.

*Edit – I revamped the wall later, images can be found in this post.

P.S. Fun fact of the day: Apparently a group of butterflies is called a kaleidoscope, a flutter and a rabble. And look at that, I done went and learned something new.

11 Comments

Filed under crafts, DIY

11 responses to “a flutter of butterflies

  1. Theresa

    Your basement looks totally delightful and the addition of the butterflys is perfect! I think your standards are just fine 🙂

  2. What a cute idea!

  3. Sarah

    This is so happy and fun!

  4. thebeadden

    So whimsical. I love it!

  5. Grammy

    Very nice!

  6. M

    Whats the story with Willow Ave? Isn’t Willow Summer’s middle name? (sorry if I have that info wrong…) Is that the street where you and Scott grew up?

  7. Mina

    love it! and you guys have a very nice basement.

  8. Love the addition of butterflies to the wall!

  9. Pingback: the friday motherload | rabit stew

  10. I love the butterflies! That’s such a cute way to brighten up a room! I also think it’s super sweet that you have a sign from the street you guys grew up on. I love that!

Leave a Reply

