moments of magic

Every day, most of my life is exactly the same as the day before.

I wake up at the same time and get ready the same way – coffee, pump, shower, dress, leave. I say goodbye to my husband the same – “Love you! Have a good day, drive carefully, always look your best!…” – that last part something we say to each other every morning because one of the real housewives said it to her kids and it made us go, “errrr?” because it was ridiculous to us that that was the nugget of advice she chose to give her children every day instead of ‘be someone’s guardian angel today’ or something a little more fuel for the soul-ish and now we can’t stop saying it. And every day I do the same drive to work to sit at the same desk in front of the same computer and talk to the same people about the same problems that I helped the same people with last week, only to get back in my car and do the same drive home that I did yesterday and will do again tomorrow.

And that monotony, my friends, could get a little boring I do believe. But here’s the thing…

No one is forcing me to do these things. If I didn’t show up to work tomorrow, the company wouldn’t crumble, I would still be alive and the world would carry on. No one is making me set my alarm for 5:30am and wear black socks that I loathe and sit and stare at the same big ugly metal building across the way every day for hours.

Why yes, that is a cactus.

But my daily routine is simply a means to an end, the bigger picture, the things I need and/or strive for – food, shelter, clean water, health insurance, college fund for my baby – and so I keep doing it because that darn money tree seed I planted in the backyard just won’t sprout no matter how much I water it.

And while the scheduled minutes of my routine workdays will continue to steal away a big chunk of my life, I am blessed with a few hours between work and bed each day that are not predetermined by a schedule. It’s a small chunk of time considering how many hours there actually are in a day, but it’s my time to be spontaneous, find the beauty around me, enjoy my family and cram as much or as little into it as I want. So I’ve been going for longer walks, playing in the grass more, lounging under the trees, showing my girl bits and pieces of the world around her.

I remember writing this down when I first read it maybe a year ago because aside from the brilliant alliteration…:

“I was losing the moments of magic in the monotony of the mundane.” – Law Momma

…it was such a simple way to vividly describe something so sad that can happen so easily.

Once in a blue moon, the routine and the spontaneous unite and I find magic kicking mundane in its boring bland butt… and there’s a little more alliteration for you, too.

Scott brought Summer in for a visit yesterday and I have to say, unexpected magic in the place you least expect it is the best kind of magic there is.

Though on all the other normal kind of days, it’s funny to think that the stress of the office complete with racing to get there on time and looming deadlines and 30 type-A personalities and an over-caffeinated manager and trying to avoid road raging car bullies on my way home is actually the boring part of my days. Yet the magical and thrilling moments come most often during the quiet times afterwards. It’s moments like this when I know I’ve probably nibbled on her piggies a few too many times but I also know that she’s learning how to love her baby and be a good mama and that to me is magic in a moment.

Moments like last night when I was lounging barefoot under a swaying willow tree watching my little one pull a dandelion out of a field of grass as the sun was setting over her shoulders. It was quiet and serene yet exciting and intense and it’s the moments like those that hold the magic I can feel, the moments that make me want to pull out my camera and shout, “this! I want to remember the power of THIS moment right here…”

And while the magic of the moments may be few and far between in an office with beige walls and brown carpet and metal blinds and horrific fluorescent lights, I know I won’t have to look as hard for it once the workday is over and I’m where I want to be. And because I know my spontaneous hours are so few, I won’t let the magic pass me by.

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…” – Dr. Seuss

We’re off to go find some magic…

10 Comments

Filed under Love, Office Jaime, Parenting, Photography

10 responses to “moments of magic

  1. With a little girl on the way and the decision made for me to continue working at my office 9-5 job after she is born, this post really resonated in a million different ways for me.

    I know it will be heartbreaking everyday to leave her, but I know it will motivate me to work hard, and play even harder with her. I imagine leaving work everyday and rushing to see her and it feeling like Christmas morning every single time. I can’t wait for that.

    • Leaving every morning is so hard, but you are so right…there is nothing better in this entire universe than opening the door to see your little girl light up and squeal like a crazy little piglet when she sees you come in. And a million congratulations on your little lovie 🙂

  2. Wonderful post, Jaime. Thank you for the reminder to look for & cherish the best in the bits of time we have with our daughters.

  3. so lovely–you have such great perspective, thank you for sharing!

  4. Love this post! Summer is lucky to have a momma who is so present in the moment. 🙂

  5. Like Rachael, I am due with my first (don’t know the sex yet!). I have a feeling my heart will break in a little million pieces each morning when I leave, but those returning home moments will be worth it. I love reading your blog posts because they are so inspirational…and I love your Dr. Seuss quote too 🙂

    • Jaime Jackimiec Straus

      Dr. Seuss describes life’s moments surprisingly well sometimes! And congrats to you, too on your itty bitty! I love me some teeny babies.

  6. Lynn

    I was blessed to be able to stay home much more this summer than my normal schedule allows. I am now back to full time hours and my heart breaks leaving my 15 month old daughter with her daddy every day. I find my magic in the relationship they’re blessed with and the happiness in her eyes when I see her every afternoon. And like you I LOVE when they happen to stop by for a quick visit at work 🙂

    • Jaime Jackimiec Straus

      Totally love having her at work! It makes me wonder if she’ll have memories of visiting my office like I have memories of visiting my parents at their workplaces once in a while when I was little.

  7. Pingback: the friday motherload | rabit stew

Leave a Reply

