life as I know it….

…has gotten rather busy in these here parts.

My new job began last Monday and to say I am busy would be an understatement. For fear of boring anyone to sleep with too many details, simply put I went from a staff member of 1 office with 30 commercial real estate agents to a computer building, software troubleshooting, IP renewing, hardware configuring, desktop services technician. Yes, I have joined the nerdy darkside and I am loving every minute of it. This is my new department, Information Services….

*sidenote – My spot in the photo was totally unplanned, but being on the end in this picture is reminiscent of my ex-husband’s family holidays where they would make any new significant others stand on the end of group photos so they could literally cut the person out with scissors if they didn’t marry in. Well I guess I showed them when I married in, made it to the middle of the photos and then left. Cue evil grin…..muah ah ahhhhhh.

Daycare is going surprisingly well, especially now that we are 2 weeks in and officially on day 5 of antibiotics for the worst double ear infection in the history of ever and ever. Everyone warned me. I thought I was prepared. They all told me she’d get sick when she started daycare. They didn’t tell me she’d get sick the second she stepped foot in the building. Regardless, aside from the snot faucet currently attached to the middle of her face, my baby is happy again and dare I say loving daycare? Crazy.

Another random, I lost a friend this month. Not lost in the dead, buried, I’ll never see her again sense of the word, but in the someone-decided-I-wasn’t-worthy-of-being-her-friend-because-I-didn’t-get-her-a-birthday-present way. And it made me stop and think for a moment that maybe I need to put a disclaimer on myself in case anyone else gets the strange idea somewhere that we should be friends purely so you can get another gift on your birthday. So here goes:

If I am only as good to you as the gifts I can bestow upon you, I am telling you now that I am no good to you.

Then, perhaps, factor in the unemployed husband, the extra $800 a month we have to come up with for daycare, the sick child and her doctor bills, paying the plumber who just had to dig through glorious wonders in the pipes in my backyard and the fact that he now selfishly wants to be compensated in ways other than my rose scented poo water, the new job I just started 5 minutes ago, and the 22 mouths I have to feed including the 2 people at my dining room table, the 2 dogs waiting for crumbs at our feet at said dining room table, and the 17 chipmunks living under my back deck who have now chewed a hole through my outdoor garbage can because clearly I don’t feed them enough as it is, and odds are you are gonna be waiting a reeeeeeeally long time for that birthday present. Though in hindsight, I’m wondering if I should have taken a cue from this thoughtful gift-giving friend I lost and just regifted her back the 10 pairs of cheap earrings she gave me for my birthday that broke before I had a chance to take them out of the box, or perhaps the bar of soap she gave me for Christmas last year because nothing says bestie like indirectly telling someone they smell bad, or better yet I could have given her back the $15 Target gift card she gave me on my birthday 2 years ago that came with a handwritten tag that said, and I quote, “go buy yourself some new pants,” because clearly her gifts say that it’s absolutely not the thought that counts, it’s all about putting something in a box and, wait, no I guess that’s it. Yes, yes, clearly I have no couth.

p.s. I know you’re really 38 and I’ve known all along, you liar. Yo mama.

And to end on a happy note, Scott finally started his new job and I’m very happy to report that after 2 weeks, he’s still very much enjoying it! Our schedules are coinciding very nicely before and after work which is volumes more than I could say for the last time we were both working. For almost half a year it was no fun having my hubby out the door at 4:00am leaving me with a 5 month old, myself, a double electric breast pump and a full-time job to worry about all by my lonesome. But now, happily chugging along both with shiny new jobs and shiny new normal people schedules, we are figuring it all out, the whole working as a powerhouse of a team, and things are actually getting done well. Who knew?

Teamwork, baby.

4 Comments

Filed under craziness, home, Office Jaime, Parenting, ridiculousness

4 responses to “life as I know it….

  1. Simona

    I’m so happy that things are going well for you guys! And happy that we’re neighbors, too! : )

  2. Yay for all of the positive changes. I’m glad things are working out for you guys.

  3. I “lost” a friend too, she sounded similar to yours. Best decision I ever made. You sound like things are looking up, so glad daycare is so much better!

  4. Yay for all the good happening right now! That’s exciting!

    Also, it’s probably better to cut that friend loose. She sounds like a peach.

Leave a Reply

