momentum

There are days that I look at her face and see exactly what she is going to look like as a teenager. It’s beautiful and terrifying at the same time.

IMG_1562

There are days when she’s sleeping on her back and her hair is all tucked behind her head and all I see is the 6 month old I stared at 2 years ago.

IMG_1565

There are days when she gets all goofy because she knows she’s actually really funny and can make me spit water out of my nose laughing.

IMG_1571

There are days where she’s purposely difficult because she’s still figuring out her limits before mommy gets that crazy twitchy look in her eyes.

IMG_1564

Well, maybe not that look, but you know.

There are days where she wants to be all grown up. “Mommy, I can help you take your coat off,” and “Mommy, I can make the doggies dinner.” My favorite is when she sits on the couch next to me all quiet, studies the way I’m sitting, then crosses her legs or places her hands exactly the way mine are.

IMG_1566

There are the days where she hugs my leg a little tighter for comfort, or grabs my hand when we’re walking into daycare, or wants to snuggle on the couch in front of endless episodes of Bubble Guppies and she rests her little head on my belly.

IMG_1573

And there are the days, the every days, where looking at her makes my heart so happy it sings. My sweet pea and I, we’re taking on the world together.

Thank you all so so much for the sweet comments, emails, thoughts, they mean so much.

P.S. We’re doing great 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “momentum

  1. Mina

    i’ve been awa from blog reading for quite some time. i decide to check back in today, and what do i see but, of course, a beautifully written and touching post from you. you and summer are so lovely. i very much admire your attitude, strength and sense of humor–i always have. may the new year bring much happiness.

  2. I could have written this post exactly. They are so sweet, fun, and challenging at this age!

Leave a Reply

