463 days

I took one of those ‘life assessment’ quizzes today on a whim and it unfortunately ended up being one where it gives you a generic score (76 woohoo!) but doesn’t break it down (um I don’t know what 76 means), so it initially seemed rather useless. But it did get me thinking. There was a question about my avocational status and I answered it very honestly. I gave myself a 1 out of 4, 1 being the lowest. The description they gave for a 1 was:

“I don’t have time to pursue interests outside of work and family. I don’t have any hobbies, nor do I have the time if I did. I am not involved in any significant way in civic or church activities. My life consists of work and family – that’s pretty much it.”

Yep.

screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-4-30-43-pm

I love my work and my family. I ranked myself high in those categories, but hobbies…hobbies…come on, there has to be one or two hobbies…

BLOG

I love writing. I love looking back at things that I’ve written here and laugh or cry or think man, I used to be so punny. I may still be, but I work at home with my dogs all day and they REALLY don’t get my humor. I know with 100% certainty that my 5 year old is funnier than I am. I text people and get a lot of lol’s and rofl’s but are these people really laughing out loud? Are they really lying on the floor rolling around laughing? Every time someone types ‘rofl’ I hear the word ‘rolf’ like a bark from an old english sheep dog in my head and picture the person down on the ground curled up in a ball rolling back and forth on his/her back like a weeble, though I’m pretty sure in the moment that’s just not happening.

Anyway, after taking the assessment and getting my horribly standard awesomely ambiguous score of 76, I watched the little follow up video of an old MAN who TALKED with his HANDS and over-ENUNCIATED every few WORDS to really DRIVE the point HOME that I’m IN the land of SUCCESS but can always IMPROVE. So I made a promise to my dogs and to the old man on my screen and to my next door neighbor **who can hear me through the wall… you know, the only people I’ve talked to in person today… that I WOULD write a blog post.

**you know your apartment walls are too thin when you’re home alone, let out a squeaky toot, and hear someone giggle on the other side of the wall. True story.

Life has been decent lately but oh so very mundane. And if typing my thoughts out through my keyboard onto my screen here is going to turn even just a little of that mundanity into magic then I’m in. Hazy is currently destroying my blanket proofreading and she says “hit publish, momma!”.

img_0551

It’s been 463 days too long. Oh how I’ve missed you.

img_0308

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “463 days

  1. Love you! This is the life of being a mom. We might not hear from you again in another 245 days, but that’s great. You are all about learning and growing adhoc via your beautiful little one. I get that. My issue – WTF I will do once my little ones are gone in the next 6-17 months. Lots of art, writing, traveling, etc. on the horizon (at least that’s my plan). So rejoice – your life isn’t really that mundane at all. 🙂

    • Love you! And you are right, it’s not always mundane, there’s a lot going on. It’s in the days when Summer isn’t here – I value me time but have stopped truly living in those moments and can’t wait for her to be home, the house seems to have no life without her. And THAT’S what I need to change. I have passions and hobbies and I haven’t pursued them for quite a while and I want to renew that part of me. Being on here is a good step towards that.

      When you’re girls leave you are moving to Chicago. End of story.

  2. Emily

    You’re a great writer and I love(d) your blog! I was happy to see you pop up today.

  3. Welcome back! If nothing else, your hobby is brightening people’s days with your witty and true-to-life writings 🙂

  4. Jacqui

    Welcome Back!
    I stumbled across your blog in 2011 when I was expecting my 1st child and super into reading blogs by fellow Moms-to-be (ummmm… HOW are our babies 5 already?!??). I have always loved your optimism, sincerity, sense of humour and general outlook on life. Also, you ARE an excellent writer. D
    I, for one, was very excited to see the email notification from Rabitstew this morning 🙂
    Your long time reader- first time commenter,
    -Jacqui

  5. Laura

    Yay! So happy to see a post from you! Hope to see some more soon, you’re a great writer and and it’s a treat to get to read something you’ve written. 🙂

  6. Thank you, you made me smile. More coming soon!

  7. Abby

    OMG, I’ve been checking this blog intermittently for the last 15 months, hoping you would come back! I always loved your posts, even though I don’t know you in real life (this blog address was posted like 6 years ago on a message board and I followed it when you were pregnant because I was at the same time and got super invested in your life). So, you are even funny and inspiring to internet creepsters!

  8. Colleen

    It took me a year of no posts and I decided to delete your blog from my bookmarks. Today I was bored and decided to check it out and was pleasantly surprised to find posts!! YAY!

  9. Ashley

    I randomly check your blog, i love love love it and I just caught up on the month of December and January. I hope you write more, they’re spectacular! I get the craziness of work and family, though, I am trying to do my hobby: crochet and…. yeah. So not happening. Loved catching up on your blog and orbeez? been there. DONE that!

Leave a Reply

