getting ready for school

Summer: “I like puddles but rats don’t.”

Me: “Rats don’t like puddles?”

S: “No. And mommy you just said RET.”

Me: “No, I said rat.”

S: “Mommy I promise. You said ret.”

Me: “And I promise you, I didn’t say ret, I said rat.”

S: “No, you actually did.”

Me: “Maybe it sounded like ret but I swear, I really truly said rat. Why would I say ret?”

S: “You said it.”

Me: “No. I didn’t”

S: “YES YOU DID I HEARD YOU!”

Me: …

yes dear

Me: “What do you want to wear today?”

S: “A dress.”

<stands in front of closet for 273 minutes, picks out dress>

S: “Can you help me change?”

Me: “Sure.”

She lays on the ground and pretends she’s a baby.

I help take off her pj shirt and accidentally pull her hair with the neck hole

she cries hard

I grab a tissue

wipe tears

untangle shirt from hair

take off pants

undies

socks

take a big toe to the eye

why is it always the eye??

then a heel to the shin

that’s gonna bruise

wrestle flailing limbs to put:

undies

socks

leggings

and a dress

on this…

puppy

wipe beads of sweat from armpits because she’s finally dressed.

Finally.

start walking away to make coffee

Summer: “I changed my mind, I want to wear a skirt.”

oh dear god

Summer, brush your teeth please…

Summer, brush your teeth…

Brush your teeth…

Brush your teeth.

Why are you just standing there with your toothbrush not doing anything?

sloth2

Brush your teeth…

Summer, brush your teeth…

sloth3

Summer, brush your teeth…

Please brush your teeth…

Brush your teeth…

sloth4

Brush your teeth…

Summer: “Remember that one time you said ret?”

BRUSH. YOUR. TEETH…

<brushes teeth, hallelujah!>

Summer, please put your shoes on…

Put your shoes on…

Dear lord put your shoes on…

sloth

Me: “Would you like mini muffins or cheerios?”

Summer:

Me: “Mini muffins or cheerios?”

Summer:

Me: “Summer, I’m talking to you.”

Summer:

Me: “I know you can hear me.”

Summer:

Me: “Ok, you’re having cheerios.”

Summer: “NO I WANT MINI MUFFINS. You should have known that, mommy.”

Now if I could only find my sanity, I know I put it here somewhere… Oh yeah! There it is.

dance

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “getting ready for school

  1. Deanna

    Yep this is me talking to my 3 year old almost a transcript lol!

  2. Abby

    That could be my house as well in the mornings. Especially the teeth brushing part and the dead silence when I ask her what she wants for a morning snack (she eats breakfast at daycare but we usually have a snack on the drive there because breakfast isn’t until 8 and we are usually up at 6 or earlier). But god forbid I assume her dead silence is disinterest in having a snack in the morning.

Leave a Reply

